LibreOffice:How to make 'Text objects' toolbar be present by default?

Questions about applications and software
Forum rules
Before you post please read how to get help
Post Reply
SamLearnsLinux
Level 3
Level 3
Posts: 108
Joined: Wed Jun 27, 2018 6:13 am

LibreOffice:How to make 'Text objects' toolbar be present by default?

Post by SamLearnsLinux » Mon May 27, 2019 1:13 am

Idk what happened in LibreOffice Writer but the 'text objects' toolbar disappeared and now I am having to open it through 'View' option every single time I open a text document. Where do I select and set the toolbars that I want should open by default every time?

User avatar
Greencedar
Level 3
Level 3
Posts: 189
Joined: Thu Jan 31, 2019 8:29 pm
Location: Missouri.
Contact:

Re: LibreOffice:How to make 'Text objects' toolbar be present by default?

Post by Greencedar » Mon May 27, 2019 2:54 am

Can you tell us what version of LibreOffice that you are using?
Greencedar

SamLearnsLinux
Level 3
Level 3
Posts: 108
Joined: Wed Jun 27, 2018 6:13 am

Re: LibreOffice:How to make 'Text objects' toolbar be present by default?

Post by SamLearnsLinux » Mon May 27, 2019 7:40 pm

Version: 6.2.4.2.0+
Build ID: 6.2.4-1
CPU threads: 4; OS: Linux 4.19; UI render: default; VCL: gtk2;
Locale: en-US (en_IN); UI-Language: en-US
Calc: threaded

User avatar
Greencedar
Level 3
Level 3
Posts: 189
Joined: Thu Jan 31, 2019 8:29 pm
Location: Missouri.
Contact:

Re: LibreOffice:How to make 'Text objects' toolbar be present by default?

Post by Greencedar » Tue May 28, 2019 7:00 am

SamLearnsLinux,

Thank you for supplying your version information. I have the same version and I cannot see any problem.

I would like to give two suggestions and one question:

1. Evidently, at one time you did have the "Text Objects" toolbar by default and at one time it disappeared. It is possible that somehow it got corrupted. Can you go to the the following link and follow the instructions on " Resolving Corruption - LibreOffice 5.3 and newer. As with all situations involving changing settings, be sure to backup your files.
If you are not sure of the instructions, or have a problem, let us know.

2. Have you tied to Customize your Toolbar with "Text Objects?"
File / View / Toolbars / Text Object / Customize /Reset
Note: Instead of "Reset" I should have said "Ok." "Reset will revert back to "default."

Question: I want to assure ourselves that we are referring to the same "Text Object" function. (1) On the "Standard Toolbar," enclosed in a "perforated type box" is the letter 'A' for "Insert Tool box." (2) Under View / Text Object opens up a "Black A" with not perforated type box surrounding it onto the Menu Bar. I have been under the assumption that you mean the "Black A Text Object. Am I correct or not?
Last edited by Greencedar on Tue May 28, 2019 8:02 pm, edited 2 times in total.
Greencedar

User avatar
Greencedar
Level 3
Level 3
Posts: 189
Joined: Thu Jan 31, 2019 8:29 pm
Location: Missouri.
Contact:

Re: LibreOffice:How to make 'Text objects' toolbar be present by default?

Post by Greencedar » Tue May 28, 2019 4:50 pm

SamLearnsLinux,

If you are not sure how to Customize a Menu Bar you may want to read the, "LibreOffice Writer Guide 6.0"

Here is the link to the "LibreOffice Writer Guide 6.0"

Code: Select all

https://documentation.libreoffice.org/en/english-documentation/getting-started-guide/
The Chapter for Customizing a menu Bar is found in "Chapter 21," from pages 437-441.

Greencedar
Greencedar

Menard
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 40
Joined: Wed May 08, 2019 5:14 am
Location: Angers (France)

Re: LibreOffice:How to make 'Text objects' toolbar be present by default?

Post by Menard » Thu May 30, 2019 3:08 am

Hi

On that subject I must tell that with v5 I have on Win XP I had no problem to customize the toolbar, for example put the "1 click 1 new line" icon at the place of the stupid default "1 click > menu > click one more time" icon, as on v6 I tried and gave up, perhaps definitively.
Linux Mint 19.1 64bits Cinnamon (Kernel 4.18.0-15)
AMD APU A8 7600 (3100 MHz to 3800 MHz) with DDR3 1833 MHz 4 GB x2
(CPU limited to 4x 3100 Mhz default by no support of the Turbo-core, then after editing grub, supports up to only 3600 MHz)

SamLearnsLinux
Level 3
Level 3
Posts: 108
Joined: Wed Jun 27, 2018 6:13 am

Re: LibreOffice:How to make 'Text objects' toolbar be present by default?

Post by SamLearnsLinux » Fri May 31, 2019 6:49 am

Greencedar wrote:
Tue May 28, 2019 7:00 am
1. Evidently, at one time you did have the "Text Objects" toolbar by default and at one time it disappeared. It is possible that somehow it got corrupted. Can you go to the the following link and follow the instructions on " Resolving Corruption - LibreOffice 5.3 and newer. As with all situations involving changing settings, be sure to backup your files.
If you are not sure of the instructions, or have a problem, let us know.

Thank you! This solved the problem. The 'Text Objects' toolbar appeared in safe mode restart so I restored all settings and user profiles to default and that solved the problem. Thank you so much!

User avatar
Greencedar
Level 3
Level 3
Posts: 189
Joined: Thu Jan 31, 2019 8:29 pm
Location: Missouri.
Contact:

Re: LibreOffice:How to make 'Text objects' toolbar be present by default?

Post by Greencedar » Fri May 31, 2019 7:57 am

SamLearnsLinux,

Very happy to hear that your problem with the text box not appearing, or not being 'docked' is solved.

Greencedar
Greencedar

Post Reply

Return to “Software & Applications”