Davinci Resolve Installed as root unable to run

Questions about applications and software
Forum rules
Before you post please read how to get help
Post Reply
spinetingler
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 1
Joined: Sat Jun 01, 2019 7:00 pm

Davinci Resolve Installed as root unable to run

Post by spinetingler »

I installed Davinci Resolve as root and have been unable to run the program. The desktop Icon is locked and I cannot start it from the terminal.
TLMAC
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 38
Joined: Sun Dec 25, 2016 12:51 am
Location: Salida, Colorado

Re: Davinci Resolve Installed as root unable to run

Post by TLMAC »

Which version of Davinci Resolve did you install? Do you use a recent Nvidia graphics card which supports CUDA 3.0 and the proprietary driver?

I found an installation guide on the site listed below:

[url]Site:https://www.linuxuprising.com/2018/06/h ... 15-in.html[/url]

That Stated:

"Both DaVinci Resolve 16 and 15 requires a recent Nvidia graphics card which supports CUDA 3.0; there are reports that AMD graphics may work now, but I can't try this myself as I don't have AMD graphics

Proprietary Nvidia graphics drivers are required"

Hope This Helps
Mac
Hoser Rob
Level 16
Level 16
Posts: 6822
Joined: Sat Dec 15, 2012 8:57 am

Re: Davinci Resolve Installed as root unable to run

Post by Hoser Rob »

Also AFAIK the free Linux version of davinci resolve doesn't have x.264 codecs due to licensing restrictions. SInce that's the most popular video codec, that makes it kind of useless.
Post Reply

Return to “Software & Applications”