powerline installation and set up

Questions about applications and software
Forum rules
Before you post please read how to get help
Post Reply
User avatar
simonsaysthis
Level 2
Level 2
Posts: 50
Joined: Sun Jun 11, 2017 1:39 pm
Location: Johannesburg

powerline installation and set up

Post by simonsaysthis » Tue Jun 04, 2019 10:45 am

Hi all

I am not very experienced in Linux and would really love to install powerline for the terminal.

I found many different instructions and none of them worked. Does anybody have a reliable procedure for 19.1 Cinnamon?

deck_luck
Level 4
Level 4
Posts: 201
Joined: Mon May 27, 2019 6:57 pm
Location: here

Re: powerline installation and set up

Post by deck_luck » Fri Jun 14, 2019 11:54 pm

Is "powerline" installed?
apt list powerline
If the previous command does not indicate installed you need to install it.
sudo apt install powerline
To use powerline with bash append the following lines to the ~/.bashrc file.

powerline-daemon -q
POWERLINE_BASH_CONTINUATION=1
POWERLINE_BASH_SELECT=1
. /usr/share/powerline/bindings/bash/powerline.sh

Open a new terminal and the new bash session will have powerline enabled.

I am curious why want to use powerline with bash. Bash has builtin dynamic prompts and as well as command history scrolling and searching. See "man bash" and search for PROMPTING and READLINE sections. Use the upper case when searching for the sections.
💡Give a man a fish, and you feed him for a day. Teach a man to fish, and you feed him for a lifetime. ✝️

Post Reply

Return to “Software & Applications”