The board will go down for necessary maintenance at 12:00 PM UTC (see current UTC time). We expect to be back 1 hour later at 1:00 PM UTC. Apologies for any inconvenience.

Why is Firefox starting with a small window?

Questions about applications and software
Forum rules
Before you post please read how to get help
Post Reply
User avatar
OveS
Level 3
Level 3
Posts: 165
Joined: Fri Jan 01, 2016 3:26 pm
Location: France

Why is Firefox starting with a small window?

Post by OveS »

Everytime I open up Firefox, it starts with a narrow window. Height is ok, but the width is about half of what it was when I closed it. It is annoying always having to stretch the window. Anyone know a fix?
Firefox is latest beta, version 68.0b12
--
Ideapad 530S-14ARR - Linux Mint 20 Cinnamon, Thinkpad X240 - Linux Mint 20 Cinnamon

User avatar
all41
Level 16
Level 16
Posts: 6249
Joined: Tue Dec 31, 2013 9:12 am
Location: Computer, Car, Cage

Re: Why is Firefox starting with a small window?

Post by all41 »

In FF/Preferences/Privacy & Security/History if you are clearing History when FF closes click the settings button and check to see if Data/Site Preferences
is ticked. If that box is checked FF will not remember the size you have set.
Linux Crux=Aut Viam Inveniam Aut Faciam+libera ab tyrannis

sgtor
Level 4
Level 4
Posts: 345
Joined: Sat May 13, 2017 9:39 pm

Re: Why is Firefox starting with a small window?

Post by sgtor »

Something I've been using for position and sizing of all my windows is devilspie2. You may want to check that out too.

Offcenter
Level 2
Level 2
Posts: 70
Joined: Sat Mar 10, 2012 5:15 pm
Location: New Jersey, USA

Re: Why is Firefox starting with a small window?

Post by Offcenter »

I've been having the same problem.
Ever since the last upgrade, Firefox opens in a narrow window.
And I have it set to 'remember history'.
George, High in the hills of Jersey

LogMan
Level 2
Level 2
Posts: 62
Joined: Thu Apr 06, 2017 8:57 pm

Re: Why is Firefox starting with a small window?

Post by LogMan »

You say you're running Ffox Beta so I can't help other than to say I'm using Ffox 67.03 and don't have that issue.

Post Reply

Return to “Software & Applications”