[Solved] Firefox not playing Amazon Prime video

Questions about applications and software
Forum rules
Before you post please read how to get help
Post Reply
User avatar
Terryphi
Level 3
Level 3
Posts: 180
Joined: Mon Jun 06, 2011 6:30 am
Location: West Wales. UK

[Solved] Firefox not playing Amazon Prime video

Post by Terryphi »

Suddenly today Amazon Prime videos are not playing for me in Firefox 67.0.4 and show this error:

Code: Select all

Video Unavailable
We're experiencing a problem playing this video. For assistance, please go to www.amazon.co.uk/videohelp.
The same problem occurs with Vivaldi browser so I suspect the problem is at Amazon's end. Reading various forums I have seen suggestions that this may be Widevine related.
Last edited by Terryphi on Sun Jul 14, 2019 11:28 am, edited 1 time in total.
Version: LM 19.3 64bit Mate "If something is worth doing, it is worth doing for free."

User avatar
Terryphi
Level 3
Level 3
Posts: 180
Joined: Mon Jun 06, 2011 6:30 am
Location: West Wales. UK

Re: Firefox not playing Amazon Prime video

Post by Terryphi »

Well. that was quick. Problem solved now so Amazon must have done something.
Version: LM 19.3 64bit Mate "If something is worth doing, it is worth doing for free."

bjmh46
Level 4
Level 4
Posts: 216
Joined: Fri May 30, 2014 6:44 pm

Re: [Solved] Firefox not playing Amazon Prime video

Post by bjmh46 »

I've noticed a similar problem for the last couple of days. Video links do nothing when clicked on. Self resolves in a few minutes.

Bob

Upton
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 34
Joined: Sun Jan 27, 2019 2:26 pm

Re: Firefox not playing Amazon Prime video

Post by Upton »

Terryphi wrote:
Sun Jul 14, 2019 11:27 am
Well. that was quick. Problem solved now so Amazon must have done something.

I have the same problem and it will soon stop working altogether. When you click on a movie to watch up will pop a note that says "UNAVAILABLE".
I run Firefox and from what I can figure out they don't like LINUX anything at Amazon. The problem seems to come because of "Digital Rights Management (DRM) ContentPlay DRM-controlled contentLearn more" this is copied from the menu in Firefox under preferences. It can't be updated by the user that I can figure out.

If you can figure it out please let me know.

Post Reply

Return to “Software & Applications”