Copy Timeshift to a new LM19 install Sorted

Questions about applications and software
Forum rules
Before you post please read how to get help
Post Reply
User avatar
slinger1953
Level 3
Level 3
Posts: 119
Joined: Wed Mar 02, 2016 11:03 am
Location: London, England

Copy Timeshift to a new LM19 install Sorted

Post by slinger1953 » Wed Sep 18, 2019 1:50 am

If my LM19 HD fails and I have Timeshift on an seperate external drive, can I do a clean install LM19 to a second new HD and do a “restore” to it and therefore recover my system? If so, how would I go about this.

Thank you
Last edited by slinger1953 on Wed Sep 18, 2019 5:31 pm, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
pbear
Level 8
Level 8
Posts: 2443
Joined: Wed Jun 21, 2017 12:25 pm
Location: San Francisco

Re: Copy Timeshift to a new LM19 install

Post by pbear » Wed Sep 18, 2019 3:23 am

It's messy. fstab will have the wrong UUIDs for mounting partitions. The bootloader and Grub also will have errant references. Several folks have tried to use Timeshift for the similar problem of transferring to a smaller drive (from HDD to SSD), which Clonezilla doesn't handle easily. Reports not favorable.
Time flies like an arrow. Fruit flies like a banana.
If your problem has been solved, please edit the thread title.

User avatar
Lanser
Level 4
Level 4
Posts: 298
Joined: Mon Mar 08, 2010 5:12 am
Location: Salzburg Austria

Re: Copy Timeshift to a new LM19 install

Post by Lanser » Wed Sep 18, 2019 3:38 am

Agreed. Timeshift is useful but it is not a system back up tool.
Creating periodic images with Clonezilla and storing them on an external drive is the safest bet.
And keeping separate current backups of all your data is critical. (I also make periodic data snapshots and archive them.)

Lanser
Thinkpads:- LM19.x Mate, LMDE3, Debian 10

User avatar
slinger1953
Level 3
Level 3
Posts: 119
Joined: Wed Mar 02, 2016 11:03 am
Location: London, England

Re: Copy Timeshift to a new LM19 install

Post by slinger1953 » Wed Sep 18, 2019 5:31 pm

Thank you both for your prompt replies.........that's that sorted.

I do use Clonezilla but just thought that there might be an easier, quicker option.

Thanks again.

Post Reply

Return to “Software & Applications”