Account drop down menus not working in Mint 19.2 using Firefox 69

Questions about applications and software
Forum rules
Before you post please read how to get help
max32
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 46
Joined: Fri Oct 14, 2016 1:19 pm

Account drop down menus not working in Mint 19.2 using Firefox 69

Post by max32 » Wed Oct 02, 2019 11:38 am

Hi
I'm using an Asus PC with Mint 19.2 and the latest software updates. My browser is Firefox 69 with the latest updates too. When i enter any accounts and try to use a drop down box menu to make a selection for payment it does not work at all. It refuses to move. I've had to go back to my 2003 laptop using a different linux OS system with Firefox ESR and the same config's to get the drop down box to work.
Can anyone explain why this is happening i would be very grateful.

User avatar
blueocean
Level 5
Level 5
Posts: 788
Joined: Sun Jul 08, 2018 11:50 pm

Re: Account drop down menus not working in Mint 19.2 using Firefox 69

Post by blueocean » Wed Oct 02, 2019 3:44 pm

Could it be an ad blocker?
To mark this issue solved, go to your original 1st post and click the edit pencil and add [Solved] at the beginning of the title and click Submit.

User avatar
JoeFootball
Level 7
Level 7
Posts: 1925
Joined: Tue Nov 24, 2009 1:52 pm
Location: /home/usa/mn/minneapolis/joe

Re: Account drop down menus not working in Mint 19.2 using Firefox 69

Post by JoeFootball » Wed Oct 02, 2019 3:58 pm

max32 wrote: When i enter any accounts and try to use a drop down box menu to make a selection for payment it does not work at all. It refuses to move.
Without knowing what menus you're referring to, could they be JavaScript components, and if so, could you be using a JavaScript blocking extension (or have otherwise disabled JavaScript)?

Joe

User avatar
blueocean
Level 5
Level 5
Posts: 788
Joined: Sun Jul 08, 2018 11:50 pm

Re: Account drop down menus not working in Mint 19.2 using Firefox 69

Post by blueocean » Wed Oct 02, 2019 4:06 pm

Could you post a screenshot of the menu/s that you can't get to activate?
To mark this issue solved, go to your original 1st post and click the edit pencil and add [Solved] at the beginning of the title and click Submit.

max32
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 46
Joined: Fri Oct 14, 2016 1:19 pm

Re: Account drop down menus not working in Mint 19.2 using Firefox 69

Post by max32 » Wed Oct 02, 2019 6:43 pm

JoeFootball wrote:
Wed Oct 02, 2019 3:58 pm
max32 wrote: When i enter any accounts and try to use a drop down box menu to make a selection for payment it does not work at all. It refuses to move.
Without knowing what menus you're referring to, could they be JavaScript components, and if so, could you be using a JavaScript blocking extension (or have otherwise disabled JavaScript)?

Joe
Hi Joe
My java script is enabled in Firefox 69. But I'm left wondering if its something to do with the PC software. Does the Java in the PC effect Firefox drop down boxes? Or secondly could it be an update fault in the software referring to screen rendering?
Had the same problem using the previous Firefox -- 68.

max32
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 46
Joined: Fri Oct 14, 2016 1:19 pm

Re: Account drop down menus not working in Mint 19.2 using Firefox 69

Post by max32 » Wed Oct 02, 2019 6:48 pm

blueocean wrote:
Wed Oct 02, 2019 3:44 pm
Could it be an ad blocker?
Hi Blue Ocean
Thanks for your reply. The answer is no. But i was thinking of using one soon going off the current subject. Hate the idea of ads following you around like a fly! -- find it intimidating and feel i have to fight back.

max32
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 46
Joined: Fri Oct 14, 2016 1:19 pm

Re: Account drop down menus not working in Mint 19.2 using Firefox 69

Post by max32 » Wed Oct 02, 2019 6:52 pm

blueocean wrote:
Wed Oct 02, 2019 4:06 pm
Could you post a screenshot of the menu/s that you can't get to activate?
Will turn that one down. Its general ones some for paying bills in accounts.

User avatar
MrEen
Level 15
Level 15
Posts: 5568
Joined: Mon Jun 12, 2017 8:39 pm

Re: Account drop down menus not working in Mint 19.2 using Firefox 69

Post by MrEen » Wed Oct 02, 2019 6:57 pm

Just a stab in the dark here, but are using a Private window here? I think that would probably make sense in that situation.

User avatar
JoeFootball
Level 7
Level 7
Posts: 1925
Joined: Tue Nov 24, 2009 1:52 pm
Location: /home/usa/mn/minneapolis/joe

Re: Account drop down menus not working in Mint 19.2 using Firefox 69

Post by JoeFootball » Thu Oct 03, 2019 7:16 am

max32 wrote: My java script is enabled in Firefox 69.
Did you confirm?
max32 wrote: Does the Java in the PC effect Firefox drop down boxes?
JavaScript and Java are two different things, similar in name only.
max32 wrote: Or secondly could it be an update fault in the software referring to screen rendering?
Does this behavior exhibit itself in browsers other than Firefox? Do you have screen rendering issues in any other app?

Joe

max32
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 46
Joined: Fri Oct 14, 2016 1:19 pm

Re: Account drop down menus not working in Mint 19.2 using Firefox 69

Post by max32 » Wed Oct 09, 2019 7:04 pm

blueocean wrote:
Wed Oct 02, 2019 3:44 pm
Could it be an ad blocker?
No its not an add blocker

max32
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 46
Joined: Fri Oct 14, 2016 1:19 pm

Re: Account drop down menus not working in Mint 19.2 using Firefox 69

Post by max32 » Wed Oct 09, 2019 7:05 pm

blueocean wrote:
Wed Oct 02, 2019 3:44 pm
Could it be an ad blocker?
Thanks for the reply -- No

max32
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 46
Joined: Fri Oct 14, 2016 1:19 pm

Re: Account drop down menus not working in Mint 19.2 using Firefox 69

Post by max32 » Wed Oct 09, 2019 7:08 pm

JoeFootball wrote:
Wed Oct 02, 2019 3:58 pm
max32 wrote: When i enter any accounts and try to use a drop down box menu to make a selection for payment it does not work at all. It refuses to move.
Without knowing what menus you're referring to, could they be JavaScript components, and if so, could you be using a JavaScript blocking extension (or have otherwise disabled JavaScript)?

Joe
Hi Joe
Java script is working in 'about configs' but i have disabled the experimental Java script.
Last edited by max32 on Wed Oct 09, 2019 7:11 pm, edited 1 time in total.

max32
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 46
Joined: Fri Oct 14, 2016 1:19 pm

Re: Account drop down menus not working in Mint 19.2 using Firefox 69

Post by max32 » Wed Oct 09, 2019 7:09 pm

MrEen wrote:
Wed Oct 02, 2019 6:57 pm
Just a stab in the dark here, but are using a Private window here? I think that would probably make sense in that situation.
Hi Een
No its happening with or without private windows.

User avatar
blueocean
Level 5
Level 5
Posts: 788
Joined: Sun Jul 08, 2018 11:50 pm

Re: Account drop down menus not working in Mint 19.2 using Firefox 69

Post by blueocean » Wed Oct 09, 2019 7:11 pm

Would you consider trying Chromium to see how it works for you? I know this doesn't answer the question. Can you tell me the name of the internet site to see if I can duplicate the condition?
To mark this issue solved, go to your original 1st post and click the edit pencil and add [Solved] at the beginning of the title and click Submit.

max32
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 46
Joined: Fri Oct 14, 2016 1:19 pm

Re: Account drop down menus not working in Mint 19.2 using Firefox 69

Post by max32 » Wed Oct 09, 2019 7:12 pm

max32 wrote:
Wed Oct 09, 2019 7:04 pm
blueocean wrote:
Wed Oct 02, 2019 3:44 pm
Could it be an ad blocker?
No its not an adblocker

max32
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 46
Joined: Fri Oct 14, 2016 1:19 pm

Re: Account drop down menus not working in Mint 19.2 using Firefox 69

Post by max32 » Wed Oct 09, 2019 7:13 pm

max32 wrote:
Wed Oct 09, 2019 7:12 pm
max32 wrote:
Wed Oct 09, 2019 7:04 pm
blueocean wrote:
Wed Oct 02, 2019 3:44 pm
Could it be an ad blocker?
No its not an ad blocker

max32
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 46
Joined: Fri Oct 14, 2016 1:19 pm

Re: Account drop down menus not working in Mint 19.2 using Firefox 69

Post by max32 » Wed Oct 09, 2019 7:17 pm

blueocean wrote:
Wed Oct 09, 2019 7:11 pm
Would you consider trying Chromium to see how it works for you? I know this doesn't answer the question. Can you tell me the name of the internet site to see if I can duplicate the condition?
Just had a quick look at Ski World web site and all the drop downs are not working for selecting for example for how many people going. Think i might have to reset Firefox again and hope that works.

max32
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 46
Joined: Fri Oct 14, 2016 1:19 pm

Re: Account drop down menus not working in Mint 19.2 using Firefox 69

Post by max32 » Wed Oct 09, 2019 7:20 pm

max32 wrote:
Wed Oct 09, 2019 7:17 pm
blueocean wrote:
Wed Oct 09, 2019 7:11 pm
Would you consider trying Chromium to see how it works for you? I know this doesn't answer the question. Can you tell me the name of the internet site to see if I can duplicate the condition?
Just had a quick look at Ski World web site and all the drop downs are not working. This happens in payments aswell. Think i might have to reset Firefox again and hope that works.

User avatar
blueocean
Level 5
Level 5
Posts: 788
Joined: Sun Jul 08, 2018 11:50 pm

Re: Account drop down menus not working in Mint 19.2 using Firefox 69

Post by blueocean » Wed Oct 09, 2019 7:24 pm

max32 wrote:
Wed Oct 09, 2019 7:20 pm
max32 wrote:
Wed Oct 09, 2019 7:17 pm
blueocean wrote:
Wed Oct 09, 2019 7:11 pm
Would you consider trying Chromium to see how it works for you? I know this doesn't answer the question. Can you tell me the name of the internet site to see if I can duplicate the condition?
Just had a quick look at Ski World web site and all the drop downs are not working. This happens in payments aswell. Think i might have to reset Firefox again and hope that works.
can you provide a www link or address. google search has a plethora of ski world search hits.
To mark this issue solved, go to your original 1st post and click the edit pencil and add [Solved] at the beginning of the title and click Submit.

User avatar
blueocean
Level 5
Level 5
Posts: 788
Joined: Sun Jul 08, 2018 11:50 pm

Re: Account drop down menus not working in Mint 19.2 using Firefox 69

Post by blueocean » Wed Oct 09, 2019 7:47 pm

You mentioned resetting Firefox. I guess you mean going to your home folder, enable hidden and delete .mozilla. Make sure and backup you bookmarks and note any extensions.
It might work and is a viable option.
To mark this issue solved, go to your original 1st post and click the edit pencil and add [Solved] at the beginning of the title and click Submit.

Post Reply

Return to “Software & Applications”