[SOLVED]Timeshift and the Settings Cont. - A Few Basic Questions

Questions about applications and software
Forum rules
Before you post read how to get help. Topics in this forum are automatically closed 6 months after creation.
Glitched

[SOLVED]Timeshift and the Settings Cont. - A Few Basic Questions

Post by Glitched »

1st: Moderators, I'm sorry if this topic has been beat to death. I'm still unclear on what constitutes "hijacking" a thread. I would have liked to asked a few questions on a couple of similar threads that were somewhat recent. I.E. viewtopic.php?f=42&t=272993

I've read the above link (and many other post, how-to's, etc) and still have some simple questions.

Preface:
I've been testing various distros for 2 weeks. I'm thoroughly in love with Mint Mate. I've already had to re-install a few times bc I'm a newb. Not a problem really. But everytime I do, I have to do a few things all over again to get back to a solid baseline how I like it. Updates, nvidia driver, firefox w/ my bookmarks, steam, etc.Right now, I am at that stage, where almost everything is at fresh install level and working. I'd like to make a back-up now before I go any further. On top of that, I would like to keep it strictly to Timeshift for now bc it is what comes with Mint by default. I'd rather not mess with adding new repos to the PPAs to get Aptik or any other type of back-up software. I'd also like to refrain from using 2 different backup managers. I very much would like to K.I.S.S.

My Simple HD/Partition Setup
/dev/nvme0n1 1TB nvme drive
/dev/nvme0n1p1 fat32 UEFI
/dev/nvme0n1p2 ext4 Mint Mate

/dev/sda 2TB HDD
/dev/sda1 NTFS /media/(myusername)/HD is the mount point Has all my data from over the years

/dev/sdb 1TB external HDD
/dev/sdb1 ext4 /media/(myusername)/HD is this mount point Empty and where I want to store my Timeshift backups