Forum rules
Before you post please read how to get help
ytene
Level 3
Level 3

System Monitoring Over Time

Post by ytene » Wed Oct 16, 2019 8:01 am

Hello Everyone...

This isn't really a Mint-specific question, but I'm hoping the community might have a suggestion or two for me.

I have a couple of hosts that I would like to subject to performance monitoring over a fairly lengthy period of time - certainly days or weeks, perhaps longer. I'd like to be able to sample their utilisation (CPU, RAM, Disk and Network IO, etc) on a recurring basis and at fixed intervals.

I'd then like to be able to go back and look at the data in an "off line" mode.

Years ago, when I was a sysadmin for a bunch of mainframes running an OS called GCOS7 (Honeywell-Bull DPS7000 machines), it came with a utility called "System Behavior Reporter" that could be configured to take samples and dump the output to file for later analysis. See here:-

https://support.bull.com/ols/product/sy ... 03US07.pdf

I'm aware that there are some excellent real-time system monitoring tools available, but this won't help me as I would like to be tracking whole-system performance over daily and weekly cycles.

I'd be very grateful for any recommendations for available tools that might be able to help me with this. I *think* that the sorts of features I'm looking for might be:-

1. Relatively low resource consumption when active
2. Ability to specify what parameters are collected
3. Ability to tailor collection to a specific application or binary, if required (e.g. if running Apache2 to host say NextCloud or Drupal)
4. Ability to write output to a log file
5. Ability to either parse log file into a spreadsheet, or come up with an export mechanism for a spreadsheet, to allow me to plot charts and/or graphs to show consumption over time...

It might be that there's a turnkey package out there that does all that in one place.