Questions about applications and software
Forum rules
Before you post please read how to get help
mraamohamed
Level 1
Level 1

Email Client

Post by mraamohamed »

Hello there, my name is Abdi I am new to Linux, and I am having a hard time setting up my email app. I am using Thunderbird for Mint, and I can sign in on he web (chrome) but when I try to use the Thunderbird it says that my password or user is not right, I am able to access my email from chrome no problem, even after I set up in thunderbird it takes me to the Gmail authorization and I am able to log in their as well, just the app itself is broken and even try another email app still same.

Any suggestions are great.

Thanks
Abdi
Abdulah Mohamed

Videographer / Blogger / Producer
mraamohamed@gmail.com

buleadventures.rf.gd/

WhatsApp 628114301800

Bule Studios ,
Jl Borong Raya Komplex Graha Jannah land 1 blok c no. 22
Makassar Sulawesi Selatan Indonesian 90234
rene
Level 16
Level 16

Re: Email Client

Post by rene »

Just a quick heads-up before I have to run, ignore any advise you may get about needing to enable "less secure apps" access to Gmail in your Gmail settings; that hasn't been true for some time and isn't for me; I am using Thunderbird on 19.2 with Gmail just fine, having gone through the procedure you describe with the web-based Gmail authentication Thunderbird-sides. So, don't know what to the issue could be --- although you may of course try if something is keeping that new "secure" Gmail signon from working for you by seeing if it it does work if you allow "less secure apps".
gittiest personITW
Level 8
Level 8

Post by gittiest personITW »

it says that my password or user is not right
Hi,
I think its a possibility you answered your own question.
It can be a bit difficult to set up sometimes but do try from scratch and make sure you have got the correct password (zeros and letter o, or little L can look like capital i)

Try it again carefully and slowly and see if that makes a difference.