One site causing issues <UN - Solved>

Questions about applications and software
Forum rules
Before you post please read how to get help
User avatar
pbear
Level 9
Level 9
Posts: 2950
Joined: Wed Jun 21, 2017 12:25 pm
Location: San Francisco

Re: One site causing issues

Post by pbear »

lsemmens wrote:
Sun Nov 10, 2019 7:58 am
Vivaldi has been steady as a rock so far. So I might be onto a winner here.
Reviewing the thread, I notice one point which isn't clear. Did you have uBlock Origin installed in Firefox? Did you install it in Vivaldi (as suggested)? If the answers are "no and "yes", respectively, that might be the important difference rather than the browser.

Asking mainly for future reference, in case someone else runs into a similar problem.
Time flies like an arrow. Fruit flies like a banana.
If your problem has been solved, please edit the thread title.

User avatar
lsemmens
Level 9
Level 9
Posts: 2840
Joined: Wed Sep 10, 2014 9:07 pm
Location: Rural South Australia

Re: One site causing issues

Post by lsemmens »

pbear wrote:
Sun Nov 10, 2019 12:40 pm
lsemmens wrote:
Sun Nov 10, 2019 7:58 am
Vivaldi has been steady as a rock so far. So I might be onto a winner here.
Reviewing the thread, I notice one point which isn't clear. Did you have uBlock Origin installed in Firefox? Did you install it in Vivaldi (as suggested)? If the answers are "no and "yes", respectively, that might be the important difference rather than the browser.

Asking mainly for future reference, in case someone else runs into a similar problem.
You are absolutely correct. never used uBlock Origin in Firefox.
Kernel: 4.15.0-46-generic x86_64 bits
Desktop: Cinnamon 3.8.9
Distro: Linux Mint 19 Tara

Laptop HP-ProBook-470-G2 8Gb RAM SSD
Server AMD Phenom 9650 - GEForce 9400GT 6Gb RAM
+ three other Mint machines
Out of my mind - please leave a message

User avatar
lsemmens
Level 9
Level 9
Posts: 2840
Joined: Wed Sep 10, 2014 9:07 pm
Location: Rural South Australia

Re: One site causing issues

Post by lsemmens »

absque fenestris wrote:
Sun Nov 10, 2019 9:13 am
lsemmens wrote:
Sun Nov 10, 2019 7:58 am
Vivaldi has been steady as a rock so far. So I might be onto a winner here. It's now just a matter of updating all of my links and passwords.

Is there a method whereby I can open a link in a new tab in the background without having to press any modifier keys.

I know I can do it by <Ctrl><Click>on a link. But, back in the bad old days of Firefox 40, I could set an option in FF to open all links in a new background tab.

<Right click> and <Open Link in New Tab> does what it promises, but also gives focus to new tab. Which is not my intent
A click on the scroll wheel opens the new tab in the background.
Forgot that. Thanks.
Kernel: 4.15.0-46-generic x86_64 bits
Desktop: Cinnamon 3.8.9
Distro: Linux Mint 19 Tara

Laptop HP-ProBook-470-G2 8Gb RAM SSD
Server AMD Phenom 9650 - GEForce 9400GT 6Gb RAM
+ three other Mint machines
Out of my mind - please leave a message

User avatar
lsemmens
Level 9
Level 9
Posts: 2840
Joined: Wed Sep 10, 2014 9:07 pm
Location: Rural South Australia

Re: One site causing issues <Solved - using Vivaldi>

Post by lsemmens »

Aaaargh! Problem has returned - It is obviously some script on the website causing issues. How can I work out what it is though? Strangely enough it occured with the first document I opened. I was able to force a restart this time with <ctrl><alt><sys rq> this time, so that is an improvement. I immediately returned to the site after the restart and opened the same document with no problem.
Kernel: 4.15.0-46-generic x86_64 bits
Desktop: Cinnamon 3.8.9
Distro: Linux Mint 19 Tara

Laptop HP-ProBook-470-G2 8Gb RAM SSD
Server AMD Phenom 9650 - GEForce 9400GT 6Gb RAM
+ three other Mint machines
Out of my mind - please leave a message

Post Reply

Return to “Software & Applications”