Could not download safety rules

Questions about applications and software
Forum rules
Before you post please read how to get help
Post Reply
User avatar
richyrich
Level 19
Level 19
Posts: 9057
Joined: Mon May 04, 2009 8:31 pm

Re: Could not download safety rules

Post by richyrich »

Hi, this may sound dumb . Image . but others have used this fix in the forum :

Close the mintUpdate icon in the taskbar (right-click -> close). Go to Menu -> Administration -> mintUpdate and start it from there, enter password, let it refresh.
Then it seems to auto-fix this . . . don't know why . . but it worked for them.

On reboot, the icon will be back in the tray.

Hope this helps, if not, post back, regards, Richy
User avatar
richyrich
Level 19
Level 19
Posts: 9057
Joined: Mon May 04, 2009 8:31 pm

Re: Could not download safety rules

Post by richyrich »

You've probably read this one . . I've got two posts with different things to try from a terminal . .

http://forums.linuxmint.com/viewtopic.p ... 61#p170951
User avatar
richyrich
Level 19
Level 19
Posts: 9057
Joined: Mon May 04, 2009 8:31 pm

Re: Could not download safety rules

Post by richyrich »

I'm stumped . . .may have to wait on a member with more experience with this ?

Well . . I tried . . Image

regards, Richy

BUMP !
User avatar
richyrich
Level 19
Level 19
Posts: 9057
Joined: Mon May 04, 2009 8:31 pm

Re: Could not download safety rules

Post by richyrich »

Great isn't it ! Nothing quite like the sense of accomplishment!
There is SOO much a person can do with Linux . . pretty soon you will be the one assisting newbies!


Welcome to the Mint forums, and . .
Best regards, Richard
User avatar
everready
Level 3
Level 3
Posts: 131
Joined: Fri Jan 27, 2012 6:37 am
Location: In His Service

Re: Could not download safety rules

Post by everready »

richyrich wrote:Hi, this may sound dumb . Image . but others have used this fix in the forum :

Close the mintUpdate icon in the taskbar (right-click -> close). Go to Menu -> Administration -> mintUpdate and start it from there, enter password, let it refresh.
Then it seems to auto-fix this . . . don't know why . . but it worked for them.

On reboot, the icon will be back in the tray.

Hope this helps, if not, post back, regards, Richy
Sorry, i know this is an old thread but i tried your fix and it worked! :mrgreen:

Thanks!
everready
Post Reply

Return to “Software & Applications”