Questions about applications and software
Forum rules
Before you post please read how to get help
lordcalendar
Level 1
Level 1

Linux Mint Cinnamon 19.3: Steam will not Start

Post by lordcalendar »

I'm running 19.3, Cinnamon, and my problem is that Steam will not launch. I've tried uninstalling and reinstalling, launching it from the terminal (though honestly I might have done something wrong there), and launching it the normal way. I'm not very experienced with Linux operating systems, even though I've used them for a while the first real issues I've had have been in the last few days.
When I try to launch steam through the terminal, I get the following:

Code: Select all

tar: This does not look like a tar archive
xz: (stdin): File format not recognized
tar: Child returned status 1
tar: Error is not recoverable: exiting now
find: ‘/home/username/.steam/ubuntu12_32/steam-runtime’: No such file or directory
I recently had an issue where I got stuck in a login loop, and I kind of fixed it by using the following:

sudo -s
cd /home
mv yourlogin yourlogin.old
mkdir yourlogin
chown yourlogin yourlogin
I had originally installed Steam in what's now username.old, could it have something to do with that? Again, I have next to no experience fixing issues like this.
I tried

find ~/.steam/ubuntu12_32/steam-runtime \( -name "libgcc_s.so*" -o -name "libstdc++.so*" -o -name "libxcb.so*" -o -name "libgpg-error.so*" \) -print -delete
and got the following:
find: ‘/home/julien/.steam/ubuntu12_32/steam-runtime’: No such file or directory
I'm not sure if there's any other relevant information. I'll include it later if it's needed.
Sorry if I'm missing something very obvious, I rarely used the terminal before switching from Kubuntu to Linux Mint and I'm not used to it yet.

charvey
Level 1
Level 1

Re: Linux Mint Cinnamon 19.3: Steam will not Start

Post by charvey »