SOLVED kate editor: difficulty entering unicode characters

Questions about applications and software
Forum rules
Before you post please read how to get help
Post Reply
sadhu
Level 5
Level 5
Posts: 643
Joined: Fri Nov 22, 2013 9:48 am
Contact:

SOLVED kate editor: difficulty entering unicode characters

Post by sadhu »

I get rid of xed because of its user-unfriendliness in opening files. Kate seemed to be the best alternative so far.

I was trying to enter the unicode letter a-with-macron: ā -- so in the kate editing window I typed Ctrl-Shift-u then 101<space> but only "101 " appeared.

How does one enter unicode characters in kate?


Thank you
-Sadhu
Last edited by sadhu on Mon Apr 13, 2020 11:51 am, edited 2 times in total.
sabbe sattā bhavantu sukhitattā. LN 19.3-64 Cinn 4.4.8, Mobo: ASUSTeK STRIX B250G GAMING v, Dual core Pntm G4560, Intel Gfx. Laptop:ASUS, Core i3, 4G RAM Intel Gfx

gittiest personITW
Level 8
Level 8
Posts: 2009
Joined: Tue May 28, 2019 4:27 pm

Re: kate editor: difficulty entering unicode characters

Post by gittiest personITW »

Try this if you haven't already...

Press and hold CTRL+SHIFT (don't let go till I tell you)
Press u and let go
Type 101
Let go of CTRL+SHIFT

Does that work?

User avatar
absque fenestris
Level 8
Level 8
Posts: 2226
Joined: Sat Nov 12, 2016 8:42 pm
Location: Confoederatio Helvetica

Re: kate editor: difficulty entering unicode characters

Post by absque fenestris »

Just tested Xed. In all of the ways described above by both of you, the desired ā appears.

System: Mint MATE 19.3

It also works here in the input mask for the forum ...
Linux Mint 18.3 Sylvia (Mate) 32-bit - Acer D250 Netbook (Intel Atom N270, 2 GB RAM, 120 GB SSD)
Linux Mint 17.3 Rosa (Mate) 64-bit - MacBook Pro 15" (Intel Core2 Duo, 8 GB RAM, 240 GB SSD) - with some separation difficulties...

User avatar
absque fenestris
Level 8
Level 8
Posts: 2226
Joined: Sat Nov 12, 2016 8:42 pm
Location: Confoederatio Helvetica

Re: kate editor: difficulty entering unicode characters

Post by absque fenestris »

Just tested Kate Editor - works fine too.
ā
System: Debian Buster KDE
Linux Mint 18.3 Sylvia (Mate) 32-bit - Acer D250 Netbook (Intel Atom N270, 2 GB RAM, 120 GB SSD)
Linux Mint 17.3 Rosa (Mate) 64-bit - MacBook Pro 15" (Intel Core2 Duo, 8 GB RAM, 240 GB SSD) - with some separation difficulties...

sadhu
Level 5
Level 5
Posts: 643
Joined: Fri Nov 22, 2013 9:48 am
Contact:

Re: kate editor: difficulty entering unicode characters

Post by sadhu »

gittiest personITW wrote:
Wed Mar 11, 2020 5:41 am
Try this if you haven't already...

Press and hold CTRL+SHIFT (don't let go till I tell you)
Press u and let go
Type 101
Let go of CTRL+SHIFT

Does that work?
Nope. Not in Kate Version 17.12.3, anyway. Works everwhere else, though. (xed, gedit, komodo edit, libreoffice, etc.) I even have it programmed into Autokey: "<ctrl>+<shift>+u101 ".

In Kate, when I press Alt-a (which runs the keystrokes above (not including the quotes) i get "101" (see below).

Thanks.
-Sadhu
Last edited by sadhu on Wed Mar 11, 2020 10:49 am, edited 1 time in total.
sabbe sattā bhavantu sukhitattā. LN 19.3-64 Cinn 4.4.8, Mobo: ASUSTeK STRIX B250G GAMING v, Dual core Pntm G4560, Intel Gfx. Laptop:ASUS, Core i3, 4G RAM Intel Gfx

sadhu
Level 5
Level 5
Posts: 643
Joined: Fri Nov 22, 2013 9:48 am
Contact:

Re: kate editor: difficulty entering unicode characters

Post by sadhu »

absque fenestris wrote:
Wed Mar 11, 2020 6:22 am
Just tested Kate Editor - works fine too.
ā
System: Debian Buster KDE
Doesn't work for me.
Screenshot from 2020-03-11 20-14-39.png
sabbe sattā bhavantu sukhitattā. LN 19.3-64 Cinn 4.4.8, Mobo: ASUSTeK STRIX B250G GAMING v, Dual core Pntm G4560, Intel Gfx. Laptop:ASUS, Core i3, 4G RAM Intel Gfx

User avatar
absque fenestris
Level 8
Level 8
Posts: 2226
Joined: Sat Nov 12, 2016 8:42 pm
Location: Confoederatio Helvetica

Re: kate editor: difficulty entering unicode characters

Post by absque fenestris »

sadhu wrote:
Wed Mar 11, 2020 10:48 am
absque fenestris wrote:
Wed Mar 11, 2020 6:22 am
Just tested Kate Editor - works fine too.
ā
System: Debian Buster KDE
Doesn't work for me.
Screenshot from 2020-03-11 20-14-39.png
I installed Kate in Linux Mint MATE 19.3: it doesn't respond to the "u+101" inputs at all. But I can create the macron with AltGr + Shift and the exclamation mark* and then enter a. ā

* Use Onboard (Keyboard) to find out where (with AltGr+Shift) the macron is on your keyboard
Linux Mint 18.3 Sylvia (Mate) 32-bit - Acer D250 Netbook (Intel Atom N270, 2 GB RAM, 120 GB SSD)
Linux Mint 17.3 Rosa (Mate) 64-bit - MacBook Pro 15" (Intel Core2 Duo, 8 GB RAM, 240 GB SSD) - with some separation difficulties...

sadhu
Level 5
Level 5
Posts: 643
Joined: Fri Nov 22, 2013 9:48 am
Contact:

Re: kate editor: difficulty entering unicode characters

Post by sadhu »

absque fenestris wrote:
Wed Mar 11, 2020 11:51 am
I installed Kate in Linux Mint MATE 19.3: it doesn't respond to the "u+101" inputs at all. But I can create the macron with AltGr + Shift and the exclamation mark* and then enter a. ā
No luck. Right-Alt, plus (left or right) Shift plus !, then a, yields "!a" in my Kate.

Moot point, really. I installed gedit, which I don't like as much as Kate, but at least I can get the Pāḷi characters I need by using my Autokey macros.


-Sadhu
sabbe sattā bhavantu sukhitattā. LN 19.3-64 Cinn 4.4.8, Mobo: ASUSTeK STRIX B250G GAMING v, Dual core Pntm G4560, Intel Gfx. Laptop:ASUS, Core i3, 4G RAM Intel Gfx

sadhu
Level 5
Level 5
Posts: 643
Joined: Fri Nov 22, 2013 9:48 am
Contact:

Re: SOLVED kate editor: difficulty entering unicode characters

Post by sadhu »

I followed the instructions here. It was a bit of a bear setting it up, and I wasn't able to call a subroutine, so I had to put the code in each script, but it works.

Basically, the script uses xclip to stuff the unicode character into the clipboard, then pastes at the insertion point. Which in this case, is kate.

Hope this helps anyone else who has trouble with kate.

(I'm still having trouble with kate -- the kate clipboard sometimes contains whatever was there before, then the new xclip data. I need some way to purge the clipboard in kate.) Nevertheless, the scripts work beautifully elsewhere!

-Sadhu
sabbe sattā bhavantu sukhitattā. LN 19.3-64 Cinn 4.4.8, Mobo: ASUSTeK STRIX B250G GAMING v, Dual core Pntm G4560, Intel Gfx. Laptop:ASUS, Core i3, 4G RAM Intel Gfx

Kirara
Level 2
Level 2
Posts: 66
Joined: Sun Oct 06, 2019 1:38 pm

Re: kate editor: difficulty entering unicode characters

Post by Kirara »

absque fenestris wrote:
Wed Mar 11, 2020 11:51 am
...

... . But I can create the macron with AltGr + Shift and the exclamation mark* and then enter a. ā

* Use Onboard (Keyboard) to find out where (with AltGr+Shift) the macron is on your keyboard
Thanks a bunch for this! - Works out of the box/basic installation for me.
(Cinnamon 19.2/19.3)

Post Reply

Return to “Software & Applications”