Timeshift, Not enough disk space.

Questions about applications and software
Forum rules
Before you post please read how to get help
dirtyb15
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 31
Joined: Mon Sep 16, 2013 3:49 pm

Timeshift, Not enough disk space.

Post by dirtyb15 »

Hello all, Trying to set up timeshift and Im having some problems. It is telling me i dont have enough disk space to create my first snapshot. (Says i need 8.8TB.) I have several additional drives mounted, so i'm guessing thats the problem but they are all mounted under /mnt and that is on the exclude list.
Any ideas?
thanks!
deepakdeshp
Level 18
Level 18
Posts: 8848
Joined: Sun Aug 09, 2015 10:00 am

Re: Timeshift, Not enough disk space.

Post by deepakdeshp »

Post output of

Code: Select all

df -m |grep sda
. I assume you havent setup logical volumes. Where are you trying to create the backup?
If I have helped you solve a problem, please add [SOLVED] to your first post title, it helps other users looking for help, and keeps the forum clean.
Regards,
Deepak

I am using Mint 20 Cinnamon 64 bit with AMD A8/7410 / 8GB
Mint 20 Cinnamon AMD Ryzen3500U
dirtyb15
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 31
Joined: Mon Sep 16, 2013 3:49 pm

Re: Timeshift, Not enough disk space.

Post by dirtyb15 »

Thanks for the reply.

Code: Select all

/dev/sda1         269455  172756     82990  68% /
/dev/sda3         656200  541968     80831  88% /mnt/ssdstorage
I am attempting to save backup to /dev/md0 (ext4 partition, raid0 of 2 drives)
deepakdeshp
Level 18
Level 18
Posts: 8848
Joined: Sun Aug 09, 2015 10:00 am

Re: Timeshift, Not enough disk space.

Post by deepakdeshp »

https://easylinuxtipsproject.blogspot.c ... t.html?m=1
Clean your system. Find big files and delete unwanted ones.
Post

Code: Select all

df -m /dev/md0
If I have helped you solve a problem, please add [SOLVED] to your first post title, it helps other users looking for help, and keeps the forum clean.
Regards,
Deepak

I am using Mint 20 Cinnamon 64 bit with AMD A8/7410 / 8GB
Mint 20 Cinnamon AMD Ryzen3500U
dirtyb15
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 31
Joined: Mon Sep 16, 2013 3:49 pm

Re: Timeshift, Not enough disk space.

Post by dirtyb15 »

Code: Select all

Filesystem     1M-blocks    Used Available Use% Mounted on
/dev/md0         3754289 1709774   1853740  48% /mnt/raid
Have started cleaning.
I don't really have any large or unneeded files on my sda1 partition.

md0, currently has rsync backups of my home directory, and one of my spinning data drives.
deepakdeshp
Level 18
Level 18
Posts: 8848
Joined: Sun Aug 09, 2015 10:00 am

Re: Timeshift, Not enough disk space.

Post by deepakdeshp »

You have enough free storage on md0.

Code: Select all

cd /; sudo umount /mnt/ssdstorage 
Delete old backups from md0
Try the backup.
If I have helped you solve a problem, please add [SOLVED] to your first post title, it helps other users looking for help, and keeps the forum clean.
Regards,
Deepak

I am using Mint 20 Cinnamon 64 bit with AMD A8/7410 / 8GB
Mint 20 Cinnamon AMD Ryzen3500U
dirtyb15
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 31
Joined: Mon Sep 16, 2013 3:49 pm

Re: Timeshift, Not enough disk space.

Post by dirtyb15 »

Same thing, Still says Not enough disk space (<8.8 TB)
deepakdeshp
Level 18
Level 18
Posts: 8848
Joined: Sun Aug 09, 2015 10:00 am

Re: Timeshift, Not enough disk space.

Post by deepakdeshp »

Code: Select all

 sudo fsck -y /dev/md0
. This shouldn't be necessary though. No harm in running. Have you mounted md0?

Code: Select all

 sudo mount /dev/md0 /mnt;df -m /mnt
If it shows free space in md0 then you can backup to /mnt.
If I have helped you solve a problem, please add [SOLVED] to your first post title, it helps other users looking for help, and keeps the forum clean.
Regards,
Deepak

I am using Mint 20 Cinnamon 64 bit with AMD A8/7410 / 8GB
Mint 20 Cinnamon AMD Ryzen3500U
dirtyb15
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 31
Joined: Mon Sep 16, 2013 3:49 pm

Re: Timeshift, Not enough disk space.

Post by dirtyb15 »

I will run the check but I also tried backing up to a different drive and same thing. Yes md0 is mounted at boot , it's in my fstab. It seems that timeshift thinks it needs 8+ terabytes, but sda1 is only a couple hundred gigs.
deepakdeshp
Level 18
Level 18
Posts: 8848
Joined: Sun Aug 09, 2015 10:00 am

Re: Timeshift, Not enough disk space.

Post by deepakdeshp »

dirtyb15 wrote:
Sat Mar 21, 2020 11:49 am
I will run the check but I also tried backing up to a different drive and same thing. Yes md0 is mounted at boot , it's in my fstab. It seems that timeshift thinks it needs 8+ terabytes, but sda1 is only a couple hundred gigs.
md0 should have ext4 file system for you to backup to you.
If I have helped you solve a problem, please add [SOLVED] to your first post title, it helps other users looking for help, and keeps the forum clean.
Regards,
Deepak

I am using Mint 20 Cinnamon 64 bit with AMD A8/7410 / 8GB
Mint 20 Cinnamon AMD Ryzen3500U
dirtyb15
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 31
Joined: Mon Sep 16, 2013 3:49 pm

Re: Timeshift, Not enough disk space.

Post by dirtyb15 »

Yes md0 is ext4
User avatar
AZgl1500
Level 15
Level 15
Posts: 5566
Joined: Thu Dec 31, 2015 3:20 am
Location: Oklahoma where the wind comes sweeping down the plains
Contact:

Re: Timeshift, Not enough disk space.

Post by AZgl1500 »

you are asking Timeshift to do more than the normal backup....
no way would it be 8.8 tB

and I hope you are directing the Timeshift storage location off of the drive that your OS is on?

I always put it on my extUSB drive, which means of course, I have to plug in the extUSB drive to make backups, but that is more secure, and I never run out of space.
Linux Mint 19.3 Cinnamon
dirtyb15
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 31
Joined: Mon Sep 16, 2013 3:49 pm

Re: Timeshift, Not enough disk space.

Post by dirtyb15 »

Right I can't figure out why it's trying to back up 8 tb.
I'm stumped. It's like it's trying to back up all of my mounted drives but /mnt is excluded in timeshift
deepakdeshp
Level 18
Level 18
Posts: 8848
Joined: Sun Aug 09, 2015 10:00 am

Re: Timeshift, Not enough disk space.

Post by deepakdeshp »

Exclude the md0 mount point folder from the files to backup. Is it trying to backup md0 too?
If I have helped you solve a problem, please add [SOLVED] to your first post title, it helps other users looking for help, and keeps the forum clean.
Regards,
Deepak

I am using Mint 20 Cinnamon 64 bit with AMD A8/7410 / 8GB
Mint 20 Cinnamon AMD Ryzen3500U
User avatar
Joe2Shoe
Level 5
Level 5
Posts: 550
Joined: Wed Oct 18, 2017 8:12 pm
Location: Ozone

Re: Timeshift, Not enough disk space.

Post by Joe2Shoe »

I always create a "DATA" partition on the HDD/SSD just to store Timeshift backups and other data, KEEPING all this data off the / and /home partitions, etc, etc..
This way, I never run out of space.
I also copy/move Timeshift backups to external HDD/SSD, thereby saving needed space on the PC.
"Tolerance is the refuge of men without conviction."
"Common sense is not so common" - Voltaire
dirtyb15
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 31
Joined: Mon Sep 16, 2013 3:49 pm

Re: Timeshift, Not enough disk space.

Post by dirtyb15 »

I have attached an image of my disk usage. It says that total filesystem capacity is 8.8TB, but as you can see it is mostly in the /mnt folder which i am excluding in timeshift. Why does timeshift think it needs all 8.8 TB?
Attachments
DiskUsage.png
User avatar
Pierre
Level 20
Level 20
Posts: 11245
Joined: Fri Sep 05, 2008 5:33 am
Location: Perth, AU.

Re: Timeshift, Not enough disk space.

Post by Pierre »

you do need to UN-mount any UN-necessary HDDs & particularly those in that RAID setup.
- - you shouldn't need to back-up them via TS anyway.
that's the main issue.

with that RAID out of the way, then the backup, should be that much smaller.
- - you do need to point TS to another ext4 type partition, to place it's files.
Image
Please edit your original post title to include [SOLVED] - when your problem is solved!
and DO LOOK at those Unanswered Topics - - you may be able to answer some!.
dirtyb15
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 31
Joined: Mon Sep 16, 2013 3:49 pm

Re: Timeshift, Not enough disk space.

Post by dirtyb15 »

I was trying to backup to the raid array :). So is this not possible? Do i have to use an external drive?
thanks!
pbear
Level 15
Level 15
Posts: 5662
Joined: Wed Jun 21, 2017 12:25 pm
Location: San Francisco

Re: Timeshift, Not enough disk space.

Post by pbear »

There was a similar thread about a month ago, here. Most of the thread ended up dealing with another issue, but what seemed to solve YOUR problem was purging and reinstalling Timeshift. I suggest you do the same. This assures you're starting with all the default settings and filters, and clears out any weirdness which may have crept in by accident.

As for backup target, must be a Linux file system, but can't see why RAID would be ineligible. If RAID is a problem, it's because it's confusing the filters. The problem is what Timeshift thinks it needs to copy, not where.
dirtyb15
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 31
Joined: Mon Sep 16, 2013 3:49 pm

Re: Timeshift, Not enough disk space.

Post by dirtyb15 »

Thanks for the reply. Just tried a remove/purge/install, and same issue.

I also tried unmounting my raid, and saving to another single drive i have mounted, and it is still saying i need 8.8TB. It looks like its using the capacity of all drives connected whether they are mounted or not....
Post Reply

Return to “Software & Applications”