Foxclone - linux image backup, restore & clone

Questions about applications and software
Forum rules
Before you post please read how to get help
User avatar
AndyMH
Level 12
Level 12
Posts: 4182
Joined: Fri Mar 04, 2016 5:23 pm
Location: Wiltshire

Re: Foxclone - linux image backup, restore & clone

Post by AndyMH »

There is a 'bug' in the current and earlier versions of foxclone. foxclone uses the model name of the drive as the 'unique' identifier for backup and restore. Okay for most people, but if you happen to have two identical drives in the system... foxclone may try to restore to the wrong drive.

Next version will use the model name and serial number as the unique identifier for a drive.
Homebrew i5-8400+GTX1080 Cinnamon 19.0, 3 x Thinkpad T430 Cinnamon 19.0, i7-3632 , i5-3320, i5-3210, Thinkpad T60 19.0 Mate

User avatar
AndyMH
Level 12
Level 12
Posts: 4182
Joined: Fri Mar 04, 2016 5:23 pm
Location: Wiltshire

Re: Foxclone - linux image backup, restore & clone

Post by AndyMH »

Now fixed, V40 is available on the website.

In a backup, V40 records both the model name and serial number of the drive backed up. Previous versions just recorded the model name of the drive in a backup. V40 will still work with backups from earlier versions where the backup does not record the serial #.
Homebrew i5-8400+GTX1080 Cinnamon 19.0, 3 x Thinkpad T430 Cinnamon 19.0, i7-3632 , i5-3320, i5-3210, Thinkpad T60 19.0 Mate

sanmig
Level 3
Level 3
Posts: 176
Joined: Tue Dec 04, 2018 8:27 am

Re: Foxclone - linux image backup, restore & clone

Post by sanmig »

AndyMH wrote:
Fri Jun 12, 2020 8:50 am
V40 will still work with backups from earlier versions where the backup does not record the serial #.
To add the serial number is a an improvement, thanks for keeping earlier backups alive!

Andy, regarding the implied request in viewtopic.php?p=1827334#p1827334
(to mount a FoxClone image and access individual files from that image),

I’ve tried that before, using both, the old and the new imagemount,
but failed due to “n00b at work” (can’t handle loop devices?). :oops:

While the old imagemount (from partclone-utils v.0.4.11) reports “cannot verify: Invalid argument”
(as expected, your partclone-image 0.3.11 uses the new file format 002),
the imagemount from the forked partclone-utils (https://github.com/prekageo/partclone-utils)
is completely silent:

Code: Select all

san@San-Akoya-Mint:~/Desktop$ sudo imagemount -d /dev/loop0 -f '/home/san/Desktop/20200524.sde1_copy.img' -m /mnt -r -t ntfs
[sudo] password for san:    
san@San-Akoya-Mint:~/Desktop$
- and I don’t know how to access the partition image, it’s not mounted at /mnt or visible e.g. in Disks.

However, when I try to mount the image file using losetup:

Code: Select all

san@San-Akoya-Mint:~/Desktop$ sudo losetup /dev/loop0 '/home/san/Desktop/20200524.sde1_copy.img'
losetup: /home/san/Desktop/20200524.sde1_copy.img: Warning: file does not fit into a 512-byte sector; the end of the file will be ignored.
san@San-Akoya-Mint:~/Desktop$
- the "device" is at least visible in Disks.
When I repeat the losetup command it (correctly) throws an error, but the imagemount is still silent:

Code: Select all

san@San-Akoya-Mint:~/Desktop$ sudo losetup /dev/loop0 '/home/san/Desktop/20200524.sde1_copy.img'
losetup: /home/san/Desktop/20200524.sde1_copy.img: failed to set up loop device: Device or resource busy
san@San-Akoya-Mint:~/Desktop$ sudo imagemount -d /dev/loop0 -f '/home/san/Desktop/20200524.sde1_copy.img' -m /mnt -r -t ntfs
san@San-Akoya-Mint:~/Desktop$  
:cry:
What am I doing wrong here? File access would be very useful!

nascar64
Level 2
Level 2
Posts: 51
Joined: Thu Sep 12, 2013 7:35 am

Re: Foxclone - linux image backup, restore & clone

Post by nascar64 »

Hi guys use this foxclone to back-up LMDE 4 and feren os and and tricia 19.3 on 3 ssd drive same pc to a 2 terabyte usb drive and it work out great can not ask for better, matter a fact i installed ulyana 20.04 beta over tricia 19.3 , was not working good so reinstall 19.3 from Back-up of foxccone over tricia 19.3 i's working great,just let every one knows it's working for me any way,Thank for the guy at foxclone

myface68
Level 3
Level 3
Posts: 106
Joined: Sun Jun 14, 2020 7:48 am

Re: Foxclone - linux image backup, restore & clone

Post by myface68 »

I cloned successfully my sda drive to external usb drive ( both ssd). There is size difference my sda is 223G and the sdb is 238G. 15G difference in size. Will I have a problem to clone back if something happen to my sda?. I use drive clone. To my understanding, you can not clone large drive to smaller. Will the 15G made the difference?. Thanks

User avatar
AndyMH
Level 12
Level 12
Posts: 4182
Joined: Fri Mar 04, 2016 5:23 pm
Location: Wiltshire

Re: Foxclone - linux image backup, restore & clone

Post by AndyMH »

myface68 wrote:
Thu Jun 18, 2020 10:27 am
To my understanding, you can not clone large drive to smaller. Will the 15G made the difference?. Thanks
Yes you can clone a larger drive to a smaller drive, BUT you must make sure that the partitions on the larger drive are less than the size of the smaller drive and all the unallocated space is at the end. This is explained in the user guide.
Homebrew i5-8400+GTX1080 Cinnamon 19.0, 3 x Thinkpad T430 Cinnamon 19.0, i7-3632 , i5-3320, i5-3210, Thinkpad T60 19.0 Mate

nascar64
Level 2
Level 2
Posts: 51
Joined: Thu Sep 12, 2013 7:35 am

Re: Foxclone - linux image backup, restore & clone

Post by nascar64 »

Hi guys use this foxclone to back-up LMDE 4 and feren os and and tricia 19.3 on 3 ssd drive same pc to a 2 terabyte usb drive and it work out great can not ask for better, matter a fact i installed ulyana 20.04 beta over tricia 19.3 , was not working good so reinstall 19.3 from Back-up of foxccone over tricia 19.3 i's working great,just let every one knows it's working for me any way,Thank for the guy at foxclone

Thanks very much AndyMH.

User avatar
AndyMH
Level 12
Level 12
Posts: 4182
Joined: Fri Mar 04, 2016 5:23 pm
Location: Wiltshire

Re: Foxclone - linux image backup, restore & clone

Post by AndyMH »

nascar64 - thanks, happy users are good to hear about.

sanmig -
Andy, regarding the implied request in viewtopic.php?p=1827334#p1827334
(to mount a FoxClone image and access individual files from that image),

I’ve tried that before, using both, the old and the new imagemount,
but failed due to “n00b at work” (can’t handle loop devices?). :oops:
I've not tried to do what you are trying, don't know if it could work. I'm sure that part of the problem is that (with the defaults) the image file is compressed (with pigz), so if you are trying to mount it you would need to uncompress it with pigz (or gzip) and pipe the output to the command you are using to mount it.

If you want to experiment more, try switching off compression before you take a backup and try what you were doing with the uncompressed image file. Let me know how you get on. Note - had a quick look at partclone-utils and in common with too much linux software, there is bugger all in the way of documentation.
Homebrew i5-8400+GTX1080 Cinnamon 19.0, 3 x Thinkpad T430 Cinnamon 19.0, i7-3632 , i5-3320, i5-3210, Thinkpad T60 19.0 Mate

myface68
Level 3
Level 3
Posts: 106
Joined: Sun Jun 14, 2020 7:48 am

Re: Foxclone - linux image backup, restore & clone

Post by myface68 »

I clone sda to external ssd drive. It works good, but I have dilemma. The drive (sdb) is 15G larger that sda. It will not work to clone back. Will it work if I clone back the 2 partitions and not drive?.

User avatar
AndyMH
Level 12
Level 12
Posts: 4182
Joined: Fri Mar 04, 2016 5:23 pm
Location: Wiltshire

Re: Foxclone - linux image backup, restore & clone

Post by AndyMH »

myface68 wrote:
Fri Jun 19, 2020 8:19 am
I clone sda to external ssd drive. It works good, but I have dilemma. The drive (sdb) is 15G larger that sda. It will not work to clone back. Will it work if I clone back the 2 partitions and not drive?.
You need to shrink the last partition on sdb so that it ends at a size less than sda. It will not work if you just try and clone the the two partitions, you also need to copy the partition table (which is what clone will do).
Screenshot from 2020-06-19 13-42-23.png
If all you are trying to do is get an image backup of sda you should be using backup not clone. Clone is for when you want to replace your main system drive (sda) for a larger drive or faster drive, e.g. an SSD.
Homebrew i5-8400+GTX1080 Cinnamon 19.0, 3 x Thinkpad T430 Cinnamon 19.0, i7-3632 , i5-3320, i5-3210, Thinkpad T60 19.0 Mate

myface68
Level 3
Level 3
Posts: 106
Joined: Sun Jun 14, 2020 7:48 am

Re: Foxclone - linux image backup, restore & clone

Post by myface68 »

I clone the sda to external(usb) ssd drive, so if my sda "bit the dust" I can boot from sdb and use it untill I can replace the sda. Can I shrink the sdb now or is too late?. I was using clonezilla in past but foxclone is better and not confusing too much ( I am old guy so get easy confuse).

User avatar
AndyMH
Level 12
Level 12
Posts: 4182
Joined: Fri Mar 04, 2016 5:23 pm
Location: Wiltshire

Re: Foxclone - linux image backup, restore & clone

Post by AndyMH »

I can boot from sdb and use it untill I can replace the sda.
Yes
Can I shrink the sdb now or is too late?.
You can shrink the partitions on sdb when and if you need to, no need to do it now. Use gparted to shrink the partitions.
Homebrew i5-8400+GTX1080 Cinnamon 19.0, 3 x Thinkpad T430 Cinnamon 19.0, i7-3632 , i5-3320, i5-3210, Thinkpad T60 19.0 Mate

myface68
Level 3
Level 3
Posts: 106
Joined: Sun Jun 14, 2020 7:48 am

Re: Foxclone - linux image backup, restore & clone

Post by myface68 »

Thank you.

User avatar
Larry78723
Level 7
Level 7
Posts: 1819
Joined: Wed Jan 09, 2019 7:01 pm
Location: Jasper County, SC, USA

Foxclone.com will be down for maintenance

Post by Larry78723 »

The foxclone.com website will be down for maintenance for about an hour starting at 9PM EST Sunday, June 21 (1AM GMT Monday, June22).
Image

sanmig
Level 3
Level 3
Posts: 176
Joined: Tue Dec 04, 2018 8:27 am

Re: Foxclone - linux image backup, restore & clone

Post by sanmig »

myface68 wrote:
Fri Jun 19, 2020 9:44 am
Can I shrink the sdb now or is too late?
I’d avoid to “gparted” under duress on my safety drive.
Think of Murphy’s law, test the shrunk sdb before sda fails :wink:

sanmig
Level 3
Level 3
Posts: 176
Joined: Tue Dec 04, 2018 8:27 am

Re: Foxclone - linux image backup, restore & clone

Post by sanmig »

AndyMH wrote:
Thu Jun 18, 2020 6:44 pm
If you want to experiment more, try switching off compression before you take a backup and try what you were doing with the uncompressed image file.
Yes, I’ve always tried an uncompressed .img file.
The original (0.4.1) partclone-utils app threw the error “cannot verify: Invalid argument”, from the Net (*) I understood that should be expected because of the new file format used by (FoxClone’s) partclone 0.3.11.
This version number is also mentioned within uncompressed FoxClone .img files at the very beginning: “partclone-image 0.3.11”.

So I deleted partclone-utils 0.4.1 and installed the forked 0.4.2-1 from https://github.com/prekageo/partclone-utils .
Now, using the same or any partclone .img, there is just silence instead of the error message.
Thus I think the file format is understood by imagemount but there is another “unexpected” issue, something like “n00b@work”
- but it could be from compiling, too … :?:

In syslog I found the hint
imagemount [3424]: /dev/loop0: cannot connect: Invalid argument
but in Terminal there is silence (as written above) -
So I conclude imagemount doesn’t realize the problem, but the system (what exactly?) complains.

What is the number [nnnn] behind “imagemount”in the syslog, it changes when I retry?

(*)
https://github.com/Thomas-Tsai/partclone/issues/86
https://sourceforge.net/p/partclone-uti ... /5f07414b/
https://sourceforge.net/p/clonezilla/di ... /34023334/

User avatar
Larry78723
Level 7
Level 7
Posts: 1819
Joined: Wed Jan 09, 2019 7:01 pm
Location: Jasper County, SC, USA

Foxclone.com is now back online

Post by Larry78723 »

Maintenance has been completed. If you still see the maintenance page, please clear your browser's cache.
Image

User avatar
farkas
Level 4
Level 4
Posts: 426
Joined: Mon Sep 21, 2015 6:10 pm
Location: Oregon

Re: Foxclone - linux image backup, restore & clone

Post by farkas »

Just downloaded foxclone40-02.iso. MD5 sum check is good.
Haven't burned it to a usb stick yet. I'll try later on.
Also when I click on "Read the File" button all I get is a blank white page.
https://www.foxclone.com/%3Cbr%20/%3E%3 ... br%20/%3E/

Also down loaded foxclone40_amd64.deb. Removed foxclone37_amd64.deb and installed foxclone40_amd64.deb. When opening it asks for password and then nothing happens.
Reinstalled foxclone37_amd64.deb and it opens as before removal.

Using LM 19.3 Cinnamon and FF 77.0.1 64 bit.
If your query has been resolved, edit your first post and add [SOLVED] to the subject line.
If you found a solution on your own please post it.
A generation which ignores history has no past and no future.

User avatar
AndyMH
Level 12
Level 12
Posts: 4182
Joined: Fri Mar 04, 2016 5:23 pm
Location: Wiltshire

Re: Foxclone - linux image backup, restore & clone

Post by AndyMH »

I've have a look at the deb.
Homebrew i5-8400+GTX1080 Cinnamon 19.0, 3 x Thinkpad T430 Cinnamon 19.0, i7-3632 , i5-3320, i5-3210, Thinkpad T60 19.0 Mate

User avatar
Larry78723
Level 7
Level 7
Posts: 1819
Joined: Wed Jan 09, 2019 7:01 pm
Location: Jasper County, SC, USA

Re: Foxclone - linux image backup, restore & clone

Post by Larry78723 »

@farkas, the problem with the manual is fixed.
Image

Post Reply

Return to “Software & Applications”