Questions about applications and software
Forum rules
Before you post please read how to get help
JohnW4SBA
Level 1
Level 1

Newbie Fix: Firefox Screen Tearing, Intel

Post by JohnW4SBA »

I'm a newbie on Mint 19.3 Mate, and a Firefox devotee. I got a Costco cheapo Dell Inspirion with Intel i5-9400 / UHD 630 Coffeelake Graphics driving a 1080p 93" projector. I'm now also a new devotee of 19.3 Mate. :)
But:
The video screen tearing in Firefox 75 was making me crazy, even showing up when fast scrolling large directories in Nemo. I scoured the web looking for a fix, and immediately discovered this is a long-standing and persistent problem for Mint. I saw people suggesting solutions that worked for them, nearly all for different (and apparently expensive) graphics chips. I saw Compiz suggested, and it since looked relatively easy (newbie), tried it - no joy - plus it looked complex and caused another problem [described in a followup Reply below]. I saw Compton suggested, tried it - YAY!! Tearing vanished magically with this SIMPLE newbie fix. So I'm writing this in case it might help anyone else.
Steps [Updated 4/13/2020]:
1. On the Mint Menu click Software Manager.
2. In the search box top-right type Compton.
3. Click on each of the two items (Compton & Compton-conf), and click Install.
*Don't know if both are needed, but it worked.
4. In the Mint Menu click Preferences, then Desktop Settings.
5. Click Windows, then pull down the box to the right of Window Manager, choose
"Metacity + Compton" and close all the stuff you've opened.
*This step 5 might have helped with Compiz, but that product seemed to make
other stuff a bit odd so I went to Software Manager and Removed it.
6. Test to see if screen tearing is gone, and if not try the other Compton option in the
Windows pull down menu. The test I used is here:
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ceX18O9pvLs
7. Restart the computer and test again [see Replies below for details].

I hope this helps, and welcome any feedback.