Keyboard hangs up during StepMania

Questions about applications and software
Forum rules
Before you post please read how to get help
User avatar
Ede
Level 4
Level 4
Posts: 293
Joined: Thu Jun 14, 2007 7:02 pm
Location: Norway

Keyboard hangs up during StepMania

Postby Ede » Fri Jun 15, 2007 12:01 pm

The strangest thing happened to me three times today.

I finally got StepMania working (damn dependecies) and all, but after playing for 15 minutes or so, the keyboard suddenly hangs up. But the 'tab'-key still works. I know, becuase In stepmania, it's the key for speeding up graphics. The capslock and numlock-keys also work, but everything else hangs, and I'm forced to do a hard reboot.
This only happens in StepMania too, I havent had this problem outside it.

Since I cant return to the desktop I have no way of reading the console. Any ideas on what's happening?

Husse
Level 23
Level 23
Posts: 19594
Joined: Sun Feb 11, 2007 7:22 am
Location: Near Borås Sweden

Postby Husse » Fri Jun 15, 2007 12:41 pm

Have you tried ctrl+alt+F1 which brings you to TTY1?
If that works ctrl+alt+F7 takes you backto the GUI
Image
Don't fix it if it ain't broken, don't break it if you can't fix it

User avatar
Ede
Level 4
Level 4
Posts: 293
Joined: Thu Jun 14, 2007 7:02 pm
Location: Norway

Postby Ede » Fri Jun 15, 2007 1:17 pm

Yeah, I tried that, but nothing happened. Every key exept tab and caps-lock/num-lock dies.

nick
Level 5
Level 5
Posts: 685
Joined: Sat Dec 02, 2006 8:04 am

Postby nick » Fri Jun 15, 2007 1:31 pm

Hi
If you have a PS2 keyboard, try "disable usb keyboard" in bios, if not ignore post :)

Nick

User avatar
Ede
Level 4
Level 4
Posts: 293
Joined: Thu Jun 14, 2007 7:02 pm
Location: Norway

Postby Ede » Fri Jun 15, 2007 8:21 pm

nick: Some keys, tab and capslock/numlock works. So, 99% of the keyboard stops working.

Besides, this is on a laptop too.

Husse
Level 23
Level 23
Posts: 19594
Joined: Sun Feb 11, 2007 7:22 am
Location: Near Borås Sweden

Postby Husse » Sat Jun 16, 2007 12:25 pm

Do you use the keyboard a lot in StepMania?
Clicking one or two keys over and over again
The only thing I can think of besides some lousy programming is that the keyboard buffer gets filled to the limit that it won't empty itself. That happens occasionally :)
Image
Don't fix it if it ain't broken, don't break it if you can't fix it

User avatar
Ede
Level 4
Level 4
Posts: 293
Joined: Thu Jun 14, 2007 7:02 pm
Location: Norway

Postby Ede » Sun Jun 17, 2007 12:10 pm

Well, yeah, I play songs with 400-600 key-presses per minute, using 4 keys for that.

Hmm, any idea how I can... err... "Turn off" the buffer?

Husse
Level 23
Level 23
Posts: 19594
Joined: Sun Feb 11, 2007 7:22 am
Location: Near Borås Sweden

Postby Husse » Mon Jun 18, 2007 6:17 am

400-600 key-presses per minute
Uh?
How do you do that? That's 10 per second :)
The keyboard buffer is hardware, it's located in the super I/O chip (I think it may be a part of the southbridge in present day mobos) and not very large. There's also a software buffer for the keyboard, the hardware one is maybe not really considered a buffer.
If you have done this on the same board with some other operating system without failure this means that Mint is not emptying the buffer fast enough.
I tried to figure out how to change this, but sometimes (more often than not these days it seems) I got to many irrelevant results when I searched for it, so....
Image
Don't fix it if it ain't broken, don't break it if you can't fix it

User avatar
Ede
Level 4
Level 4
Posts: 293
Joined: Thu Jun 14, 2007 7:02 pm
Location: Norway

Postby Ede » Mon Jun 18, 2007 11:24 am

Husse wrote:
400-600 key-presses per minute
Uh?
How do you do that? That's 10 per second :)

3 years if boredom. :P

Anyway, yeah, I'we been playing on the same laptop when it still used windows, so it cant be hardware related. I'll try to look it up myself.

Husse
Level 23
Level 23
Posts: 19594
Joined: Sun Feb 11, 2007 7:22 am
Location: Near Borås Sweden

Postby Husse » Mon Jun 18, 2007 3:49 pm

'll try to look it up myself.

That's the spirit :)
It's easy to find solutions for Windows for this....
Image
Don't fix it if it ain't broken, don't break it if you can't fix it


Return to “Software & Applications”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 7 guests