Questions about applications and software
Forum rules
Before you post please read how to get help
Mintstant Karma
Level 2
Level 2

Are flatpaks typically HUGE?

Post by Mintstant Karma »

I'm a relative newbie when it comes to installing applications on Linux Mint. So far I've installed just half a dozen, all from the software manager.

The other day I searched for the password manager "Bitwarden," but it's a whopping 765 MB to download, and is said to require 2.5 GB of disk space. :shock:
I have the space, but WOW.

I checked out Bitwarden.com, and they offer a .deb package that's a mere 45.7 MB.

The versions are nearly identical: flatpak :arrow: 1.20.0, and .deb :arrow: 1.20.1.

Why the giant discrepancy?
Is this typical for flatpaks?
Is it because it's my first flatpak and I'm also installing some kind of platform along with the application?
And what is the advantage, if any, to a flatpak over a .deb? Or is this one of those hot debate topics? :)

I'm under the impression that it's always best to get applications from the repository as opposed to downloading files from websites, for security if no other reason (correct me if I'm wrong) -- although in this case I fully trust Bitwarden and the website.

FYI, I also searched Synaptic Package Manager, but I don't yet know my way around that program, and it wasn't clear to me whether I found Bitwarden or not, nor what I could do, nor the file size. I'm also ok with using the terminal, but I'd still like to understand the size discrepancy.
RIH
Level 5
Level 5

Re: Are flatpaks typically HUGE?

Post by RIH »

viewtopic.php?t=275123#:~:text=Re%3A%20 ... 0installed.

As far as Bitwarden is concerned, on Mint 19.3, only a Flatpack (marked flathub) version appears in Software Manager.
Synaptic does not hold a version.

Normally, if there is a repository version & a Flatpack version then the Flatpack version is always more up to date.
This is particularly true as a Mint release gets longer in the tooth.