qt5 configuration problem

Questions about applications and software
Forum rules
Before you post please read how to get help
Post Reply
7954ever
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 1
Joined: Sun Nov 01, 2020 6:09 am

qt5 configuration problem

Post by 7954ever »

Hi! My first question. Don't know if this is regarded as a newbie question or a software question but anyway. I have problems with qt5. All qt4 programs run smoothly but always when I try to build a qt5 app or to run an installed one I run in to problems. Here is 2 examples:

crow-translate:
qt5ct: using qt5ct plugin
qt5ct: D-Bus system tray: no
!strcmp(locale, "C"):Error:Assert failed:in file baseapi.cpp, line 209

qdvdauthor:
QEventLoop: Cannot be used without QApplication
qt5ct: using qt5ct plugin
qt5ct: D-Bus global menu: no
QObject::connect: No such signal QAction::activated()
QObject::connect: No such signal QAction::activated()
QObject::connect: No such signal QAction::activated()
QObject::connect: No such slot QDVDAuthor::slotAddFrameObject ( )
QObject::connect: No such slot QDVDAuthor::slotAddTextObject ( )
QObject::connect: No such slot QDVDAuthor::slotAddImageObject ( )
QObject::connect: No such slot QDVDAuthor::slotAddMovieObject ( )
QObject::connect: No such signal QLineEdit::lostFocus ( )
QObject::connect: (sender name: 'm_pEditZoom')
QObject::connect: (receiver name: 'uiDVDLayout')

What am I missing? How do I configure qt5? THANX!
Linux Mint Debian Edition 4 "Debbie" AMD64
User avatar
Kadaitcha Man
Level 11
Level 11
Posts: 3649
Joined: Mon Aug 27, 2012 10:17 pm

Re: qt5 configuration problem

Post by Kadaitcha Man »

7954ever wrote:
Sun Nov 01, 2020 6:27 am
Hi! My first question. Don't know if this is regarded as a newbie question or a software question but anyway.
Welcome to the forums.
How do I configure qt5?
That's an XY problem.

Unfortunately your question has absolutely nothing to do with Linux Mint and everything to do with what you are compiling, how the Qt development environment was installed, what version of Qt was installed, what components were and were not installed, what version of Qt your downloaded source is expecting, and a host of other things that are not under the control of LM, such as dependencies and the versions required of those dependencies. I know that's probably not what you want to be told, but I develop Qt5 software on Linux Mint and it runs perfectly fine without needing any special configuration whatsoever.

For the crow-translate issue, you need to talk to the people who wrote it. Probably these people:

https://github.com/crow-translate/crow-translatele

While you're there and before you ask them, verify that you have installed all of the required dependencies, then locate their documentation and read it, and study it until you understand it.

For qdvdauthor, talk to these people: http://qdvdauthor.sourceforge.net

I recommend that you wear nuclear blast goggles before clicking on that second link.

Your free clue is here:
7954ever wrote:

Code: Select all

QObject::connect: No such signal QAction::activated()
https://doc.qt.io/qt-5/qaction.html

Again, you need to go and read the documentation. When you do so, you will note a distinct lack of any mention of signal QAction::activated() therefore the obvious conclusion must be that the software you are trying to compile is very old, and the version of Qt you are trying to compile it with is recent. So, I think my initial observation about what version of Qt your downloaded source is expecting is the hammer on the nail-head, at least for the qdvdauthor code.

There are more clues in the text you posted:

Code: Select all

QEventLoop: Cannot be used without QApplication
Old code, new development environment. We can't help you with that.
Coming to a thread near you: Lots of bragging about my AMD 5950X. Currently delayed due to high demand.
It's pronounced kad-eye-cha, not kada-itcha.
mpv
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 22
Joined: Sun Sep 23, 2018 9:39 am

Re: qt5 configuration problem

Post by mpv »

Post Reply

Return to “Software & Applications”