Folder encryption

Questions about applications and software
Forum rules
Before you post read how to get help. Topics in this forum are automatically closed 6 months after creation.
one pound
Level 2
Level 2

Folder encryption

Post by one pound »

I was looking to encrypt a folder or file using gui. There is veracrypt but this is for partitions.

Looking through old posts there was seahorse-nautilus with the ease of right click encryption. This does not seem to work when I try it - no right click or manager.

There are various many alternatives but I'd like something gui and preferably right click convenient as I'm new to linux.

If I'm going to the trouble to install something then I'd really like it to be free from the known vunerabities some encryption software seem to have searching on the web.

Some suggestions would be appreciated :D

I'm using mint 20.1 Ulyssa.
Last edited by LockBot on Wed Dec 28, 2022 7:16 am, edited 2 times in total.
Reason: Topic automatically closed 6 months after creation. New replies are no longer allowed.
t42
Level 11
Level 11

Re: Folder encryption

Post by t42 »

one pound wrote: Tue Apr 20, 2021 1:17 pm There is veracrypt but this is for partitions.
in fact, containers and partitions
-=t42=-
sanmig
Level 5
Level 5

Post by sanmig »

one pound wrote: Tue Apr 20, 2021 1:17 pm but I'd like something gui and preferably right click
For a somehow “Spy-proof” encryption you’d need veracrypt (and likely more), based on pre-formatted encrypted partitions.
For moderate privacy requirements try Cinnamon’s Nemo, right click the file/folder, select “Compress…”, under “Other Options” set the compression format (the file extension) to .7z, that can be pwd protected.
one pound
Level 2
Level 2

Post by one pound »

okay than you for the suggestion I have mint 20.1 Ulyssa I wonder if that will work on that flavour too?
AndyMH
Level 21
Level 21

Post by AndyMH »