Mediamaster flash problems?

Questions about applications and software
Forum rules
Before you post please read how to get help
User avatar
bwjpg
Level 2
Level 2
Posts: 51
Joined: Fri Mar 16, 2007 5:34 am
Location: Slough, Berkshire, UK

Mediamaster flash problems?

Postby bwjpg » Tue Jun 26, 2007 5:27 pm

I've been trying to use a site (http://www.mediamaster.com) with Bianca. It basically offers free on line storage and streaming of your mp3 collection. It really is a pretty neat concept and you should visit the site.

But...

When I tried to upload music it kept falling over and crashing Firefox. Also when I try to play back uploaded music it only plays the first 3 seconds then skips on to the next track.

Embarassingly when I used XP (again with Firefox) everything worked fine right away. The whole site seems to be made out of Flash which always seems to have worked fine in my time as a Linux user. What could be causing the problem?
:?

Any suggestions (including about any Linux friendly music storage and streaming service) would be appreciated.

Husse
Level 23
Level 23
Posts: 19593
Joined: Sun Feb 11, 2007 7:22 am
Location: Near Borås Sweden

Postby Husse » Wed Jun 27, 2007 6:11 am

I just tried mediamaster and listened to it's classic music tidbits in Bianca and it played....
I'm sorry but this is a kind of problem that is hard, if not impossible, to solve if you don't have access to the computer (and even then...)
Image
Don't fix it if it ain't broken, don't break it if you can't fix it

User avatar
bwjpg
Level 2
Level 2
Posts: 51
Joined: Fri Mar 16, 2007 5:34 am
Location: Slough, Berkshire, UK

Mediamaster problems

Postby bwjpg » Wed Jun 27, 2007 12:30 pm

Thanks for the response Husse.
I posted a query on Mediamasters own forum and they responded saying their site did not support Linux as yet but this was planned for the future (no date).

Which leaves the question how did you get it to work?

User avatar
scorp123
Level 8
Level 8
Posts: 2264
Joined: Sat Dec 02, 2006 4:19 pm
Location: Switzerland

Postby scorp123 » Wed Jun 27, 2007 12:53 pm

Maybe you have too many add-ons in Firefox? Or old versions of Firefox and/or Flash?

Do other Flash-heavy sites such as e.g. http://www.pandora.com, http://www.youtube.com, http://www.finetune.com work on your PC?

User avatar
bwjpg
Level 2
Level 2
Posts: 51
Joined: Fri Mar 16, 2007 5:34 am
Location: Slough, Berkshire, UK

Mediamaster problems

Postby bwjpg » Wed Jun 27, 2007 6:12 pm

No Firefox (2.0.0.4) has no extensions, default theme and the english language (GB) pack.
Flash is version 9,0,31,0 which Adobe says is the latest. Other than that other flash sites e.g. YouTube and and Eurogamer.net work fine. Always have done.
Very curious...

Husse
Level 23
Level 23
Posts: 19593
Joined: Sun Feb 11, 2007 7:22 am
Location: Near Borås Sweden

Postby Husse » Thu Jun 28, 2007 6:34 am

It worked maybe because this was just short extracts to show off what they have. So maybe they were short enough not to stop before they were played
Image
Don't fix it if it ain't broken, don't break it if you can't fix it

User avatar
bwjpg
Level 2
Level 2
Posts: 51
Joined: Fri Mar 16, 2007 5:34 am
Location: Slough, Berkshire, UK

Mediamaster problems

Postby bwjpg » Thu Jun 28, 2007 7:14 am

When I first set up my account I thought the classical sampler only contained snippets.
But when I used XP I see that you get to hear the full tracks.
Same with all the music you upload.
Have you been able to upload any music?

Husse
Level 23
Level 23
Posts: 19593
Joined: Sun Feb 11, 2007 7:22 am
Location: Near Borås Sweden

Postby Husse » Thu Jun 28, 2007 7:33 am

Well, that's another story :(
Have you been able to upload any music?
I'm not into that, no big "music fan"
But if web radio has to shut down....
Image
Don't fix it if it ain't broken, don't break it if you can't fix it


Return to “Software & Applications”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot], pcpunk and 9 guests