SOLVED Burning .cda (Audio CD) in Brasero

Questions about applications and software
Forum rules
Before you post please read how to get help
David Hunter
Level 3
Level 3
Posts: 131
Joined: Sat Sep 26, 2009 9:03 am
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Contact:

SOLVED Burning .cda (Audio CD) in Brasero

Postby David Hunter » Sun Oct 25, 2009 12:31 am

Hi fellow Mintees, :lol:

I am trying to burn an audio CD (old fashioned .cda files) from my mp3 collection so that my mum can play the CD in her old CD player.
So I opened up Brasero and clicked Audio CD, inserted the tracks, and clicked burn. It's been stuck for the last three hours, saying "Normalizing tracks".

Is this normal? About how long is it meant to take?

Thanks in advance for any help given.
Last edited by David Hunter on Tue Oct 27, 2009 8:39 am, edited 1 time in total.
Image
Thanks beyecixramd!

Husse wrote:Actually I've never broken a Linux I have managed to install - but there are a few I never managed to install :)

User avatar
lagagnon
Level 7
Level 7
Posts: 1886
Joined: Wed Jun 17, 2009 7:38 pm
Location: an island in the Pacific...

Re: Burning .cda (Audio CD) in Brasero

Postby lagagnon » Sun Oct 25, 2009 2:39 am

Hmmm, don't know but try launching "brasero" from a terminal and see if you get more verbose error messages and if so, post them to this thread.

David Hunter
Level 3
Level 3
Posts: 131
Joined: Sat Sep 26, 2009 9:03 am
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Contact:

Re: Burning .cda (Audio CD) in Brasero

Postby David Hunter » Mon Oct 26, 2009 12:36 am

Thanks for your reply.
No messages whatsoever when opened via terminal. It just opens up the GUI and then it all works as normal until it hangs on 'normalizing tracks'.
Image
Thanks beyecixramd!

Husse wrote:Actually I've never broken a Linux I have managed to install - but there are a few I never managed to install :)

rhodry
Level 4
Level 4
Posts: 344
Joined: Mon Jun 04, 2007 7:32 am

Re: Burning .cda (Audio CD) in Brasero

Postby rhodry » Mon Oct 26, 2009 2:53 am

You can try going to the Brasero menu under:

Edit ---> Plugins

and disable the normalize plugin.

I am not sure what this will do to the sound quality of your cd; but, my understanding of 'normalize' is that leaving it off means that the volume on each track will be as recorded. So when playing the cd, you may be having to move the volume control up & down a lot?!

I use k3b for all burning (even under Gnome) so I don't know why it is hanging but this should stop it!

Rhodry.
Life isn't about waiting for the storm to pass...
it's about learning to dance in the rain.

David Hunter
Level 3
Level 3
Posts: 131
Joined: Sat Sep 26, 2009 9:03 am
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Contact:

Re: Burning .cda (Audio CD) in Brasero

Postby David Hunter » Tue Oct 27, 2009 8:39 am

Hi rhodry,

Disabled the plug-in and it works now.
I'll give k3b a go soon.

Thanks for the advice.
Image
Thanks beyecixramd!

Husse wrote:Actually I've never broken a Linux I have managed to install - but there are a few I never managed to install :)


Return to “Software & Applications”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: sprintcowboy and 14 guests