Page 1 of 1

Anyone here used Remastersys?

Posted: Fri Oct 30, 2009 9:54 am
by jaqian
I has anyone here used Remastersys to make their own distro?

Reason I ask is I have a laptop that has a strange chip (Via C3 Nehemiah ) and it will not use any kernel after 2.6.20-16-lowlatency , which I had used in Freespire. This is a kernel bug and has been reported by others. However I still cannot install any modern distro.

What I'd like to do is remaster Mint7 but use the kernel mentioned above. Its either this or go back to using winXP as Freespire is dead thanks to Xandros.

Thanks,
Rob

Re: Anyone here used Remastersys?

Posted: Fri Oct 30, 2009 10:03 am
by exploder
Changing kernels has an effect on Remastersys... You might give Mondo Recovery or Clonezilla a try. You need to log on as root for Mondo to create a usable backup. I understand your circumstances. Whatever you use, test your back up in Virtualbox to be certain you are successful.

Re: Anyone here used Remastersys?

Posted: Fri Oct 30, 2009 10:54 am
by jaqian
Thanks exploder I'll have a look at them.