Anyone here used Remastersys?

Questions about applications and software
Forum rules
Before you post please read how to get help
jaqian
Level 2
Level 2
Posts: 68
Joined: Tue Jun 30, 2009 8:25 am
Location: Dublin, Ireland
Contact:

Anyone here used Remastersys?

Postby jaqian » Fri Oct 30, 2009 9:54 am

I has anyone here used Remastersys to make their own distro?

Reason I ask is I have a laptop that has a strange chip (Via C3 Nehemiah ) and it will not use any kernel after 2.6.20-16-lowlatency , which I had used in Freespire. This is a kernel bug and has been reported by others. However I still cannot install any modern distro.

What I'd like to do is remaster Mint7 but use the kernel mentioned above. Its either this or go back to using winXP as Freespire is dead thanks to Xandros.

Thanks,
Rob
.
..
...
Computers: Desktop> Dell Dimension 8400 | Netbook> MSI U135DX
Distros: Mint LXDE 11

--------------------------------------------------------
Camera: Sony Alpha α100 (Silver) | Minolta 50mm f1.7

exploder
Level 16
Level 16
Posts: 6967
Joined: Tue Feb 13, 2007 10:50 am
Location: HartfordCity, Indiana USA
Contact:

Re: Anyone here used Remastersys?

Postby exploder » Fri Oct 30, 2009 10:03 am

Changing kernels has an effect on Remastersys... You might give Mondo Recovery or Clonezilla a try. You need to log on as root for Mondo to create a usable backup. I understand your circumstances. Whatever you use, test your back up in Virtualbox to be certain you are successful.

jaqian
Level 2
Level 2
Posts: 68
Joined: Tue Jun 30, 2009 8:25 am
Location: Dublin, Ireland
Contact:

Re: Anyone here used Remastersys?

Postby jaqian » Fri Oct 30, 2009 10:54 am

Thanks exploder I'll have a look at them.
.
..
...
Computers: Desktop> Dell Dimension 8400 | Netbook> MSI U135DX
Distros: Mint LXDE 11

--------------------------------------------------------
Camera: Sony Alpha α100 (Silver) | Minolta 50mm f1.7


Return to “Software & Applications”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: xenopeek and 6 guests