Add shortcut to 'Open in Terminal' in Nemo's menu

Questions about applications and software
Forum rules
Before you post read how to get help. Topics in this forum are automatically closed 6 months after creation.
Locked
Darkmaster006
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 39
Joined: Thu Aug 25, 2016 2:29 pm

Add shortcut to 'Open in Terminal' in Nemo's menu

Post by Darkmaster006 »

Hey there! So what I want to do is pretty simply, I think. I've used KDE Neon for some time and it has a shortcut (Shift+F4 I think) for the option 'Open in Terminal' in the Files (Dolphin) menu. Is there any way I can configure a shortcut for the 'Open in Terminal' option for Nemo? This'd be really useful, thanks a lot. I would also like to know what was the shortcut to open a terminal in the bottom of Nemo, which also was a thing but I don't remember its shortcut. Thank you.
Last edited by LockBot on Wed Dec 28, 2022 7:16 am, edited 1 time in total.
Reason: Topic automatically closed 6 months after creation. New replies are no longer allowed.
t42
Level 11
Level 11
Posts: 3732
Joined: Mon Jan 20, 2014 6:48 pm

Re: Add shortcut to 'Open in Terminal' in Nemo's menu

Post by t42 »

.
F4 toggle terminal in the top pane (if you installed Nemo terminal plugin). Otherwise you need to customize.
-=t42=-
Darkmaster006
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 39
Joined: Thu Aug 25, 2016 2:29 pm

Re: Add shortcut to 'Open in Terminal' in Nemo's menu

Post by Darkmaster006 »

t42 wrote: Mon Sep 27, 2021 12:43 pm .
F4 toggle terminal in the top pane (if you installed Nemo terminal plugin). Otherwise you need to customize.
What do you mean? No, I don't have Nemo Terminal installed, so I must've confused it with KDE Neon, where F4 does get you to the terminal in the same window. What I want, though, is to make a shortcut for the 'Open in Terminal' option that appears when you use the right click menu in Nemo. Thank you for the help.
User avatar
Qapla
Level 2
Level 2
Posts: 73
Joined: Tue Sep 14, 2021 5:35 pm
Location: San Francisco, 6,437 meters SouthEast of the future home of Starfleet Academy

Re: Add shortcut to 'Open in Terminal' in Nemo's menu

Post by Qapla »

"Me too." I would like the shortcut. Setting up a custom key binding for gnome-terminal is easy, but there does not seem to be a "use current directory" argument for the launcher like there is %f for "this file" or %u for URL.

However, it is possible to reduce the clicks from two to one by adding an icon. In Nemo choose:
Edit > Preferences > Toolbar > Open in terminal
Qapla' - Success! (Klingon salutation on departure to battle)
MAlfare

Re: Add shortcut to 'Open in Terminal' in Nemo's menu

Post by MAlfare »

t42 wrote: Mon Sep 27, 2021 12:43 pm F4 toggle terminal in the top pane (if you installed Nemo terminal plugin). Otherwise you need to customize.
Is it possible to change color in nemo-terminal?
Dark blue on black is almost unreadable :(
User avatar
Bolle1961
Level 5
Level 5
Posts: 888
Joined: Tue Jun 29, 2010 12:59 pm

Re: Add shortcut to 'Open in Terminal' in Nemo's menu

Post by Bolle1961 »

Why not right click in a folder? Then you can open a terminal
t42
Level 11
Level 11
Posts: 3732
Joined: Mon Jan 20, 2014 6:48 pm

Re: Add shortcut to 'Open in Terminal' in Nemo's menu

Post by t42 »

.
Sorry for some delay, here is how to create a shortcut to open the terminal in the current Nemo directory:

Code: Select all

mkdir ~/.gnome2/accels
touch ~/.gnome2/accels/nemo
and insert this line in ~/.gnome2/accels/nemo file

Code: Select all

(gtk_accel_path "<Actions>/DirViewActions/OpenInTerminal" "F4")
You can change "F4" for another suitable key
Last edited by t42 on Sun Oct 03, 2021 3:44 pm, edited 1 time in total.
-=t42=-
t42
Level 11
Level 11
Posts: 3732
Joined: Mon Jan 20, 2014 6:48 pm

Re: Add shortcut to 'Open in Terminal' in Nemo's menu

Post by t42 »

MAlfare wrote: Sun Oct 03, 2021 7:31 am Is it possible to change color in nemo-terminal?
Dark blue on black is almost unreadable :(
I have colors exactly as configured in my gnome-terminal profile, use colors from system theme is off
26-43.png
-=t42=-
vimes666
Level 6
Level 6
Posts: 1224
Joined: Tue Jan 19, 2016 6:08 pm

Re: Add shortcut to 'Open in Terminal' in Nemo's menu

Post by vimes666 »

I realize you are asking for a shortcut. You can also change the settings in Nemo to let it execute an executable text file by just double clicking it. <nemo><edit><preferences><behaviour> and check 'Run executable text files when they are opened'.
Oh, you want the terminal to open and stay open I guess..
If you think the issue is solved, edit your original post and add the word solved to the title.
MAlfare

Re: Add shortcut to 'Open in Terminal' in Nemo's menu

Post by MAlfare »

t42 wrote: Sun Oct 03, 2021 11:29 am I have colors exactly as configured in my gnome-terminal profile, use colors from system theme is off
26-43.png
I have it off too, using user defined colors, but what I get get is this:
nemo-terminal.png
maybe it's a matter of theme.
t42
Level 11
Level 11
Posts: 3732
Joined: Mon Jan 20, 2014 6:48 pm

Re: Add shortcut to 'Open in Terminal' in Nemo's menu

Post by t42 »

maybe it's a matter of theme.
did you try to change built-in scheme in the terminal preferences, for example, to Green on black and experiment with uncommenting relevant lines in .bashrc
-=t42=-
MAlfare

Re: Add shortcut to 'Open in Terminal' in Nemo's menu

Post by MAlfare »

t42 wrote: Sun Oct 03, 2021 12:41 pm
maybe it's a matter of theme.
did you try to change built-in scheme in the terminal preferences, for example, to Green on black and experiment with uncommenting relevant lines in .bashrc
I tried different schemes, which changed nothing.
I love my .bashrc at it is :D
It's not worth the journey, I have no problem to RK and select "Open in Terminal".
Thank you for your effort.
Darkmaster006
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 39
Joined: Thu Aug 25, 2016 2:29 pm

Re: Add shortcut to 'Open in Terminal' in Nemo's menu

Post by Darkmaster006 »

t42 wrote: Sun Oct 03, 2021 11:03 am .
Sorry for some delay, here is how to create a shortcut to open the terminal in the current Nemo directory:

Code: Select all

mkdir ~/.gnome2/accels
touch ~/.gnome2/accels/nemo
and insert this line in ~/.gnome2/accels/nemo file

Code: Select all

(gtk_accel_path "<Actions>/DirViewActions/OpenInTerminal" "F4")
You can change "F4" for another suitable key
This works like a charm, amazing! Thank you so much.
EDIT: What if I want to have it in 'Ctrl+F4' for example, though? Is it only possible to map it to a single key?
Locked

Return to “Software & Applications”