Mythbrowser (0.22)

Questions about applications and software
Forum rules
Before you post please read how to get help
Post Reply
spo00n
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 9
Joined: Tue Jun 30, 2009 6:27 pm

Mythbrowser (0.22)

Post by spo00n »

Anyone have any idea how to set up the new Mythbrowser in Mythtv 0.22? Using the MythTV 0.22 from the repository.
There's no documentation for the latest version anywhere, including the MythTV user manual.
I get a screen in setup that says to add bookmarks using the bookmark menu, but there isn't one & there's no way to do it. Can't find a config file for it either.
I'm new to the quick & easy world of MythTV setup ;-)
Last edited by spo00n on Sun Nov 29, 2009 3:51 pm, edited 2 times in total.
User avatar
Uncle Spellbinder
Level 2
Level 2
Posts: 86
Joined: Thu Nov 26, 2009 10:47 am

Re: Mythbrowser (0.22)

Post by Uncle Spellbinder »

Computer Specs: HP Pavilion - Intel Core i5 - 3.10GHz - 8 GB memory - nVidia GeForce GT 520 1 GB
spo00n
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 9
Joined: Tue Jun 30, 2009 6:27 pm

Re: Mythbrowser (0.22)

Post by spo00n »

User avatar
DrHu
Level 17
Level 17
Posts: 7523
Joined: Wed Jun 17, 2009 8:20 pm

Re: Mythbrowser (0.22)

Post by DrHu »

spo00n wrote:I get a screen in setup that says to add bookmarks using the bookmark menu, but there isn't one & there's no way to do it
I get a screen in setup that says to add bookmarks..
  • Seen from where (browser or mythbrowser plugin ?); a web browser (konqueror, Firefox, Mozilla, Opera or Netscape) will all have a default bookmark, for their own home page at a minimum..
I don't understand, its a plugin for a web browser, and it should depend on which web browser you are using, as to how it handles plugins..

http://www.extremetech.com/article2/0,2 ... 665,00.asp
  • Its a plugin, so check plugins first..
spo00n
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 9
Joined: Tue Jun 30, 2009 6:27 pm

Re: Mythbrowser (0.22)

Post by spo00n »

DrHu,

Thanks for your help.
Just to make sure we're talking about the same thing, I'm talking about Mythbrowser, the myth plugin for browsing the internet from within MythTV, not mythweb the plugin for making changes to myth via a browser. I appreciate the links, but they're are from several years ago, and don't relate to my problem with the current version.

The default option in setup is "Internal, " which is defined as the "built in" browser.
This is on the setup screen for the plugin in Myth.
Trying to use the browser, I get the unchangeable 'bookmark manager' page w/ the message about using the bookmarks menu that doesn't exist.
I get the same result when I set firefox as the default browser on the mythbrowser setup page.

I know the mythbrowser for 0.22 is new, so I assume setup differs from previous versions, otherwise they'd not have deleted the mythbrowser documentation from the myth wiki.
spo00n
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 9
Joined: Tue Jun 30, 2009 6:27 pm

Re: Mythbrowser (0.22)

Post by spo00n »

One would have to realise that the 'M' keyboard key will give you the needed menu in mythbrowser to add a bookmark. Simply do that & add your bookmarks.
Post Reply

Return to “Software & Applications”