Page 1 of 1

xsane problem in Helena

Posted: Fri Dec 18, 2009 12:08 pm
by ColJep
Yesterday I needed to use xsane urgently on my Mint 8 computer. It is not installed by default but easy from Software Manager. All seemed well until I tried to select a photo to scan from the preview. It was impossible to drag the scan area although the mouse pointer changed correctly. I am familiar with xsane.

Clicking anywhere inside the scan area made the scan area from that point to the bottom left corner.

I had a second computer and was able to install Ubuntu 9.10 and use xsane correctly from the system (it is installed by default).

After that I did a completely fresh install of Helena on the same computer and installed xsane again with the same result.
Edit: That means xsane did not work correctly.

The computer is an Asus P5N73-AM with Nvidia graphics. My main machine is an Asus P5QL-CM with Intel graphics.

I have Googled and searched the forums to no avail.

Has anybody any ideas?

Re: xsane problem in Helena

Posted: Fri Dec 18, 2009 2:51 pm
by Fornhamfred
Hi

Have checked this out on my system and had the same result. Previewing the scan does not allow you to re-define the area to be scanned. This would appear to be a bug in Helena.

This is a bug and has been reported as a bug in Ubuntu 9.10

Re: xsane problem in Helena

Posted: Fri Dec 18, 2009 3:42 pm
by ColJep
Yes I thought it was a bug but xsane worked perfectly in Ubuntu 9.10.

I think it has something to do with xsane not being part of a basic install in Helena but included in 9.10.

You have to install xsane from the repositories in Helena. I think the problem lies there.

Re: xsane problem in Helena

Posted: Fri Dec 18, 2009 4:25 pm
by darethehair
I am having the same problem.

How would I force the 'Helena' version of xsane to be installed rather than the stock Ubuntu one, if that is (for some reason) the problem?

Re: xsane problem in Helena

Posted: Sat Dec 19, 2009 9:02 am
by Fornhamfred
I am not sure why Xsane works fine with 9.10 because the bug report was generated by someone using Ubuntu 9.10. How-ever there is not a different Xsane version for Mint and so if you have the problem it is probably a case of waiting for a bug fix. I have not found any alternate scanning software.

Re: xsane problem in Helena

Posted: Sat Dec 19, 2009 11:11 am
by kwisher
I can confirm this behavior also. I booted into a Ubuntu 9.10 live-cd and Xsane "rubberband" selection after a preview scan works correctly. This is not a major show stopper but is quite an annoyance when Xsane works in the upstream version.

Re: xsane problem in Helena

Posted: Sat Dec 19, 2009 12:18 pm
by Fornhamfred
On my system there is also another problem in that when scanning and saving to home, Xsane saves the file required plus a second file raw.pnm. I have no idea why this happens but it does it for all file extensions. My scanner is a Canon Canoscan LIDE 60 and works perfectly with previous versions of Mint running the same version of Xsane 0.996.

I have also checked this out on my hardware with Ubuntu 9.10 and as you say it works perfectly. I have therefore reported this bug as it is obviously Mint related.

Re: xsane problem in Helena

Posted: Sat Dec 26, 2009 3:46 pm
by Gramps50
I have the same problem using xsane and Mint 8 that others are reporting. In my case the same printer/scanner works fine when connected to one of my 9.10 machines. I did a complete removal and deleted the .xsane directory and reinstalled, same problem.

Don't know if this makes a difference but my Mint 8 is 32 bit and my Ubuntu is 64 bit

I tried it on my Ubuntu 32 bit Karmic and it worked fine.

Re: xsane problem in Helena

Posted: Sat Dec 26, 2009 7:22 pm
by GSXR750L
As a temporary thing, I turn the preview through 180 degrees then crop it before scan.

Re: xsane problem in Helena

Posted: Sun Dec 27, 2009 12:28 am
by Gramps50
GSXR750L wrote:As a temporary thing, I turn the preview through 180 degrees then crop it before scan.
If I'm understanding you right you rotate the preview 180 degrees then crop it, this did not work for me.

Also not sure if this would make a difference but I am running Mint8 32 bit on an AMD64 mainly because I only have 1 gb ram and the 32 bit buntus seem to run a little better.

Re: xsane problem in Helena

Posted: Sun Dec 27, 2009 10:24 am
by GSXR750L
Just had another try at it to find out what I did > acquire preview > click top left of area to be scanned > turned through 180 > clicked top left of area to be scanned again ( which is now the opposite corner of wanted area when done ) > this selects crop area > then click scan.

Re: xsane problem in Helena

Posted: Fri May 14, 2010 2:13 pm
by sixthwheel
Looks like this bug has not been fixed yet, since my 32bit Karmic installation has no problems with selecting scan area. Mint 8 is a different story. :roll:

Re: xsane problem in Helena

Posted: Sat May 15, 2010 1:39 pm
by Fornhamfred
No. I cannot see it being fixed as the replies I have had suggest that the bug is also in Karmic although I am the same as you, my setup works fine in Karmic. I have tried the RC1 of Mint 9 and it works graet with Xsane.

Re: xsane problem in Helena

Posted: Sun May 16, 2010 3:36 am
by ColJep
I have just tried xsane using the RC of 64 bit Isadora. It works perfectly.
Good enough for me! :D