How to I properly prevent systemd suspend using a script in /lib/systemd/system-sleep/

Questions about applications and software
Forum rules
Before you post read how to get help. Topics in this forum are automatically closed 6 months after creation.
arm3112
Level 1
Level 1

How to I properly prevent systemd suspend using a script in /lib/systemd/system-sleep/

Post by arm3112 »

I'm fairly new to Linux and trying to learn. I'm using Plex Media Server and I'm trying to prevent the system from sleeping while streaming a file. I've searched the internet over the last few days and none of the solutions seem to work. One solution I feel is almost getting me there, but it's not quite working.

Here is my system information:

Code: Select all

System:
  Kernel: 5.15.0-48-generic x86_64 bits: 64 compiler: gcc v: 11.2.0 Desktop: Cinnamon 5.4.12
    tk: GTK 3.24.33 wm: Mutter dm: LightDM Distro: Linux Mint 21 Vanessa base: Ubuntu 22.04 jammy
Here is the script I've placed (and made executable) in /lib/systemd/system-sleep/ (based on this site).

#!/bin/bash

PATH=/sbin:/usr/sbin:/bin:/usr/bin
X_DISPLAY_USERNAME=myusername

plexresume()
{
    number_of_sessions=$(curl -s localhost:32400/status/sessions? | sed -n "s/.*MediaContainer size=\"\(.*\)\".*/\1/p")
    if [ ${number_of_sessions} -gt 0 ]; then
        echo "[$(date +"%Y.%m.%d-%T")] Number of streamers = ${number_of_sessions} Plex session active, cancel suspend" >> /tmp/plex_sleep_log
        return 1
    else
        echo "[$(date +"%Y.%m.%d-%T")] Number of streamers = ${number_of_sessions} Plex session -IN-active, going to sleep now   zzzzzzzz........" >> /tmp/plex_sleep_log
        return 0
    fi
}

plexkeepalive()
{
    echo "[$(date +"%Y.%m.%d-%T")] Resuming!!..." >> /tmp/plex_sleep_log
    su ${X_DISPLAY_USERNAME} -c "DISPLAY=:0 /usr/bin/xdotool getmouselocation | grep 'x:1 y:1 '" > /dev/null
    if [ "$?" == "0" ]; then
        su ${X_DISPLAY_USERNAME} -c "DISPLAY=:0 /usr/bin/xdotool mousemove 9 9"
    else