Is this update request legit?

Questions about applications and software
Forum rules
Before you post read how to get help. Topics in this forum are automatically closed 6 months after creation.
red-striped-zebra
Level 3
Level 3

Is this update request legit?

Post by red-striped-zebra »

Received an update request for linux mint recently, but I haven't updated yet because it came isolated out of the blue and looked really suspicious:

"setuid root xorg server wrapper"

screenshot 1: https://ibb.co/CQgSJBs

The words "Set User ID and Root" put together set the alarm bells off for me. I am not a techie and fairly recent to Linux. All I keep reading is plebs shouldn't mess with root. I decided to put my conspiracy theories aside and ask the tech sleuths here about it (hope no user here shills for governments -- is that impossible though, haha? ...I mean uniquely ID'ing Linux users and getting them in the surveillance fold alongside apple and windows users sounds like a fun hobby for megalomaniacs!)

Also, the file has a funny download link from the linux mint community page. Check the screenshot below. Nobody has even reviewed it, lol. I honestly thought it was planted:

screenshot 2: https://ibb.co/VpgBG2H
The description in the screenshot reads: "This package provides a wrapper for the xorg x server, which is necessary for legacy drivers and non-linux kernels"

Should I go for the update? Please forgive me if you feel my suspicion was stupid!
Also sorry for the blurry screenshots. Think ImgBB reduced quality.
Last edited by LockBot on Wed May 24, 2023 10:00 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Reason: Topic automatically closed 6 months after creation. New replies are no longer allowed.
spamegg
Level 14
Level 14

Re: Is this update request legit?

Post by spamegg »

That's a legit update. I just installed it.