Beryl and Frostwire togethet???

Questions about applications and software
Forum rules
Before you post please read how to get help
User avatar
starkey
Level 3
Level 3
Posts: 131
Joined: Fri Dec 15, 2006 5:27 pm
Location: Mexico

Beryl and Frostwire togethet???

Postby starkey » Fri Dec 22, 2006 7:41 pm

Hi, I installed Beryl, but when I tried to install frostwire, it doesn't work, it only shows a blank screen, I have to turn beryl off, to use frostwire; is there any way to use both in the same time????

User avatar
scorp123
Level 8
Level 8
Posts: 2264
Joined: Sat Dec 02, 2006 4:19 pm
Location: Switzerland

Re: Beryl and Frostwire togethet???

Postby scorp123 » Sat Dec 23, 2006 5:28 pm

starkey wrote:Hi, I installed Beryl, but when I tried to install frostwire, it doesn't work, it only shows a blank screen, I have to turn beryl off, to use frostwire
Hmmmm ... same problem here (LinuxMint 2.0 "Barbara"). Looks like the Java libraries FrostWire was written with don't like Beryl ... Workaround: Don't use Beryl or use a different Gnutella-client (e.g. gtk-gnutella). I agree, this sort of sucks. Maybe there is a better solution?

User avatar
scorp123
Level 8
Level 8
Posts: 2264
Joined: Sat Dec 02, 2006 4:19 pm
Location: Switzerland

Postby scorp123 » Sat Dec 23, 2006 6:12 pm

[ EDIT: previous posting deleted ... the solution presented there did not work reliably! ]

OK, here is the real solution:

Can you please check if this file exists: /usr/bin/frostwire ... ? For example you could open a terminal and type this command:

Code: Select all

ls -al /usr/bin/frostwire


If you get an output similar to this then it means the file exists:

Code: Select all

-rwxr-xr-x 1 root root 103 2006-12-23 23:03 /usr/bin/frostwire
If it does not exist: OK, no problem, we will create it!

This file is a very very ugly shell script that doesn't do certain things right. On my system the file looked like this inside:

Code: Select all

bash /usr/lib/frostwire/runFrostwire.sh
That's really bad shell scripting right there, sorry to say so!

So we need to correct this. Please become root and open an editor, e.g.

Code: Select all

gksudo gedit /usr/bin/frostwire
The GNOME editor should be open.
Now please delete the content there (yes, really!) and replace it with this:

Code: Select all

#! /bin/bash
export AWT_TOOLKIT=MToolkit
export HOSTNAME=localhost
/usr/lib/frostwire/runFrostwire.sh
Save and close this file.

Now when you call frostwire it should work as expected, regardless if you are in Beryl or not.

Regards,

Scorp123

User avatar
starkey
Level 3
Level 3
Posts: 131
Joined: Fri Dec 15, 2006 5:27 pm
Location: Mexico

Postby starkey » Mon Dec 25, 2006 12:01 pm

That's is great. now frostwire works, thank you so much :D :D :D :D :D :D :D

User avatar
scorp123
Level 8
Level 8
Posts: 2264
Joined: Sat Dec 02, 2006 4:19 pm
Location: Switzerland

Postby scorp123 » Mon Dec 25, 2006 7:55 pm

starkey wrote:That's is great. now frostwire works, thank you so much :D :D :D :D :D :D :D

You're welcome :D

User avatar
hairy_Palms
Level 4
Level 4
Posts: 292
Joined: Mon Nov 27, 2006 10:46 am

Postby hairy_Palms » Mon Dec 25, 2006 8:17 pm

i found that upgrading to java6 also fixed the problem with java apps and beryl :)

User avatar
scorp123
Level 8
Level 8
Posts: 2264
Joined: Sat Dec 02, 2006 4:19 pm
Location: Switzerland

Postby scorp123 » Mon Dec 25, 2006 8:23 pm

hairy_Palms wrote:i found that upgrading to java6 also fixed the problem with java apps and beryl :)
How did you upgrade? Via synaptic or the apt-get commands? Or did you manually download and install the package?

bourbonstreet
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 2
Joined: Thu Dec 28, 2006 11:42 pm

Postby bourbonstreet » Thu Dec 28, 2006 11:56 pm

Thank you scorp123 i`ve been looking for a fix for this for a while. I even registered just to say thank you. :lol:

User avatar
scorp123
Level 8
Level 8
Posts: 2264
Joined: Sat Dec 02, 2006 4:19 pm
Location: Switzerland

Postby scorp123 » Sat Dec 30, 2006 6:28 pm

bourbonstreet wrote:Thank you scorp123 i`ve been looking for a fix for this for a while. I even registered just to say thank you. :lol:

Hey wow, thank you :D

User avatar
hairy_Palms
Level 4
Level 4
Posts: 292
Joined: Mon Nov 27, 2006 10:46 am

Postby hairy_Palms » Tue Jan 02, 2007 3:44 am

i upgraded using the official installer in /usr/lib/jvm/java-1.5.0-sun it replaces the jre folder


Return to “Software & Applications”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: austin.texas, BenTrabetere, chzuck, mwbworld and 9 guests