sbackup not running from....

Questions about applications and software
Forum rules
Before you post please read how to get help
Post Reply
User avatar
Cariboo
Level 4
Level 4
Posts: 202
Joined: Sun Jan 13, 2008 10:00 pm
Location: Kelowna, BC

sbackup not running from....

Post by Cariboo »

Hello all,
I know, the question is already asked HERE but I couldn't get a satisfying answer. So I ask for help again:

Running LM7 Gloria I have the issue that sbackup is not running from
--->Menu --->Administration

but I can start it from
--->Menu --->Control center --->System.

I wonder if the issue has ever been solved and how?
I would appreciate if somebody could give me a hint what to do.
:?:
Self-built MSI-785GM-E51 Desktop, Dual boot: LM18-64bit and Win10-64bit , Samsung Galaxy S4 un-locked.
BrianD
Level 4
Level 4
Posts: 313
Joined: Fri Feb 12, 2010 12:22 am
Location: Tallahassee, Florida, USA

Re: sbackup not running from....

Post by BrianD »

chances are, you won't get a satisfying answer here, either... without answering the questions that were asked there. :wink:
need I say more??
User avatar
Cariboo
Level 4
Level 4
Posts: 202
Joined: Sun Jan 13, 2008 10:00 pm
Location: Kelowna, BC

Re: sbackup not running from....

Post by Cariboo »

BrianD wrote:... without answering the questions that were asked there :wink:
OK, you're right...

Question 1: Is this the software?: http://simplelinuxbkup.sourceforge.net/#downld???
Answer 1: No. It is sbackup 0.10.5ubuntu2 which came with the original Gloria CD

Question 2: what is the command line in the menu showing???
Answer 2: su-to-root -X -c /usr/sbin/simple-back

Question 3: whereis sback up???
Answer 3: /usr/share/sbackup/sbackup, usr/share/menu/sbackup

These were all the questions I found there...

Do I have to replace /usr/sbin/simple-back with /usr/share/sbackup/sbackup (line in Answer 2)?

Would my answers help to solve the issue...what do you think BrianD :?: :?: :?: :?:
Self-built MSI-785GM-E51 Desktop, Dual boot: LM18-64bit and Win10-64bit , Samsung Galaxy S4 un-locked.
vlovjz
Level 2
Level 2
Posts: 88
Joined: Tue May 05, 2009 3:33 pm

Re: sbackup not running from....

Post by vlovjz »

kwisher
Level 5
Level 5
Posts: 780
Joined: Wed Mar 05, 2008 12:54 pm
Location: Greentown, Indiana USA

Re: sbackup not running from....

Post by kwisher »

I believe that sbackup was a Google Summer of Code project and is no longer being developed. Please correct me if I am wrong. Anyway, after it quit working I started using a package called BackInTime and have been extremely happy with it.
The instructions suggested Windows XP or better, so I installed Linux :)
vlovjz
Level 2
Level 2
Posts: 88
Joined: Tue May 05, 2009 3:33 pm

Re: sbackup not running from....

Post by vlovjz »

I'm not sure, but I know that BackInTime is not in the Gloria repositories. If I could get sBackup to work it would be really great, but if BackInTime is available for Jaunty then I suppose I could switch to that.
kwisher
Level 5
Level 5
Posts: 780
Joined: Wed Mar 05, 2008 12:54 pm
Location: Greentown, Indiana USA

Re: sbackup not running from....

Post by kwisher »

A.Tim wrote:I'm not sure, but I know that BackInTime is not in the Gloria repositories. If I could get sBackup to work it would be really great, but if BackInTime is available for Jaunty then I suppose I could switch to that.
There are instructions on their website for adding their repositories. Or they also provide deb packages.
The instructions suggested Windows XP or better, so I installed Linux :)
vlovjz
Level 2
Level 2
Posts: 88
Joined: Tue May 05, 2009 3:33 pm

Re: sbackup not running from....

Post by vlovjz »

Thanks kwisher,

I'm using BackInTime on two machines now. I'm not sure I like it as much as I liked sbackup, but I think it's only a graphical interface issue. The program works just fine. Thanks for the suggestion!

Regards,

Tim
Post Reply

Return to “Software & Applications”