Questions about applications and software
Forum rules
Before you post please read how to get help
anarchitektur
Level 1
Level 1

Need some help with mdadm RAID 1

Post by anarchitektur »

My computer was running 32 bit Mint 7, and I had used mdadm to set up a RAID 1 array. The OS was installed on a third disk that wasn't part of the RAID. Anyway, I added some additional RAM, bringing the total to 8 GB, and I wanted to be able to actually use all of that RAM, so I wiped the system disk to install Mint 8 x64.

I was lead to believe that the system would auto-detect that these two disks are a mdadm-configured RAID and would be able to mount them, but unfortunately that doesn't seem to be the case. Since I'm a bit of a newbie, I was hoping one of you fine gentlemen (or even a lady, I'm not picky) could help me understand what steps I need to take to get this RAID 1 usable again without wiping the disks and starting over... there's approximately 600GB of data that I'd really rather not lose.

RedWagon
Level 5
Level 5

Re: Need some help with mdadm RAID 1

Post by RedWagon »

Whenever you create a raid array in mdadm it builds everything without destroying any data. You can delete and recreate the array (through mdadm) as many times as you want and as long as you don't format the drives you shouldn't loose anything.
Once I accidentally messed up the creation of a 500GB RAID 5 array; I only built it with two disks. After an hour of moving my data around the resulting array was only 250GB and I couldn't access any of my data. I deleted the array and recreated it with all three disks and after two of the most nerve wracking hours of my life I had all my data back. So basically mdadm is pretty robust, I would just follow the same steps you did when you created the array in the first place (except for partitioning and formatting your drives.) If you want, paste them here and I can tell you which ones you need to run.

anarchitektur
Level 1
Level 1

Post by anarchitektur »