aMSN error [FIXED]

Questions about applications and software
Forum rules
Before you post please read how to get help
User avatar
red-e-made
Level 5
Level 5
Posts: 526
Joined: Sat Jul 14, 2007 11:31 am

aMSN error [FIXED]

Postby red-e-made » Thu Aug 16, 2007 7:50 am

Alright guys - mintInstall was being sluggish and tempermental, so I followed the installation instructions on their home site, and received the following error message:

Image

I'm going to try and sort this out myself, but I would of course really appreciate advice.

PS: Why is mintInstall so tempermental? It's as though it "feels like" installing some programs without trouble, and "feels like" being stubborn with others.
Last edited by red-e-made on Thu Aug 16, 2007 10:46 am, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
merlwiz79
Level 10
Level 10
Posts: 3476
Joined: Wed Apr 04, 2007 1:50 pm
Location: Here again :)

Postby merlwiz79 » Thu Aug 16, 2007 9:37 am

Why not just use Synaptic?
It says that you are missing tcl, a dependency of amsn.
The name of that package is tcl8.4.
I just installed it with mintInstall worked fine.
Image

User avatar
red-e-made
Level 5
Level 5
Posts: 526
Joined: Sat Jul 14, 2007 11:31 am

Postby red-e-made » Thu Aug 16, 2007 10:49 am

merlwiz79 wrote:Why not just use Synaptic?
It says that you are missing tcl, a dependency of amsn.
The name of that package is tcl8.4.
I just installed it with mintInstall worked fine.


Thanks for that - still learning, you know.

I ended up having to use Synaptic to install both tcl8.3 and a TK GUI toolkit, but it's now installed by changing the file's permissions to "Allow executing file as program". It was really the easiest way for me, because my mintInstall is tempermental, like I said - it installed Blender with no problem, but on aMSN it would get like a third of the way there and then just stop.

In any event, it's installed. Thanks again!


Return to “Software & Applications”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: chiefjim and 9 guests