UbuntuOne on Mint-9 broken?

Questions about applications and software
Forum rules
Before you post please read how to get help
Post Reply
celem
Level 2
Level 2
Posts: 96
Joined: Mon Aug 18, 2008 10:39 pm
Location: North Carolina

UbuntuOne on Mint-9 broken?

Post by celem »

Ubuntu One worked well with Mint 8 but didn't work on Mint-9 after a fresh install with apps ported over by the Mint backup process. I uninstalled/reinstalled via Synaptic with no help. The procedure at the UbuntuOne site ( http://tinyurl.com/38ooe2t ) got it working but I still lack the tray icon.
User avatar
bob5
Level 4
Level 4
Posts: 378
Joined: Sun Oct 11, 2009 8:01 am

Re: UbuntuOne on Mint-9 broken?

Post by bob5 »

hi

-check then ubuntuone has every thing it needs go to syspantc manger

- find ubuntuone other click choose package recommends .


hope it helps
Hope it helps!
Guides by me :
how to use wicd as an network manger:
http://ubuntugeek.com/forum/index.php/topic,269.0.html
vincent
Level 8
Level 8
Posts: 2217
Joined: Tue Feb 09, 2010 4:10 am

Re: UbuntuOne on Mint-9 broken?

Post by vincent »

Have you tried right-clicking your panel and selecting "Add to Panel", and then looking Ubuntu One in the list of applets that follow? I'm not sure if this'll work since I don't use Ubuntu One, but it makes sense that there would probably be an Ubuntu One applet, unless it's part of the Notification Applet.
Debian Testing x64/LM9 Main x64/Windows 7 x64 - LG R580 laptop w/ Intel Core 2 Duo T6500 2.1 GHz, 4 GB DDR2 RAM, Nvidia Geforce G 105M, Ralink rt2860 802.11n, 300 GB WD HD 5400 rpm
gotjazz
Level 4
Level 4
Posts: 383
Joined: Fri May 28, 2010 11:38 am
Location: Vienna, Austria

Re: UbuntuOne on Mint-9 broken?

Post by gotjazz »

hrm I can't get the damn thing to sync either. Do you think canonical might have taking precautions against it being used with mint?
Ahh no - that#s just me being paranoid. But now that I've added the me-menu I'd really enjoy being able to use ubuntu one too.
Image
jelevin
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 2
Joined: Thu May 06, 2010 7:48 pm

Re: UbuntuOne on Mint-9 broken?

Post by jelevin »

I'm also not able to get U1 working on Mint 9. I followed the instructions at http://tinyurl.com/38ooe2t and also installed ubuntuone-client-gnome. This seemed to allow me to connect, however I can't get a tray icon and it doesn't sync. The Ubuntu one folder and the files inside have a little red X built into the icon, which I presume indicates that they failed to sync.

Any thoughts?
deivid
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 15
Joined: Thu Jan 28, 2010 8:42 pm

Re: UbuntuOne on Mint-9 broken?

Post by deivid »

This doesn't seem to be fixed in Mint10 yet.
User avatar
bob5
Level 4
Level 4
Posts: 378
Joined: Sun Oct 11, 2009 8:01 am

Re: UbuntuOne on Mint-9 broken?

Post by bob5 »

Hi Devid ,

Does it install ? , please can you post more info !! ??




Thanks !
Hope it helps!
Guides by me :
how to use wicd as an network manger:
http://ubuntugeek.com/forum/index.php/topic,269.0.html
albinard
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 15
Joined: Sun Aug 15, 2010 4:33 pm
Location: New Mexico

Re: UbuntuOne on Mint-9 broken?

Post by albinard »

In case this question still needs resolution, bob5 was right, the easiest way to install it is from Synaptic Package Manager. The only trick is that Synaptic doesn't mention that you need to mark ubuntuone-tools for installation as well; once you do that you should get to the Add this computer page.
deivid
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 15
Joined: Thu Jan 28, 2010 8:42 pm

Re: UbuntuOne on Mint-9 broken?

Post by deivid »

The workaround proposed here fixed the issue in my case: https://bugs.launchpad.net/ubuntu/+sour ... bug/666608
Post Reply

Return to “Software & Applications”