How do I find Streamripper?

Questions about applications and software
Forum rules
Before you post please read how to get help
Post Reply
saltsprung
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 3
Joined: Thu May 27, 2010 8:45 pm

How do I find Streamripper?

Post by saltsprung » Thu May 27, 2010 8:50 pm

I have Linux Mint 8.

I installed Streamripper, but can't find where it is in order to use it.

Please tell me where I can find it?

User avatar
thx1138
Level 4
Level 4
Posts: 313
Joined: Thu Apr 30, 2009 8:42 pm
Location: Germany/NRW
Contact:

Re: How do I find Streamripper?

Post by thx1138 » Thu May 27, 2010 9:23 pm

It's in /usr/bin.
Or you open a terminal and type streamripper.

JasonLG
Level 7
Level 7
Posts: 1612
Joined: Thu May 20, 2010 9:15 pm
Location: Polk City, Iowa USA

Re: How do I find Streamripper?

Post by JasonLG » Thu May 27, 2010 9:30 pm

The lightest frontend I could find doing a quick search of Synaptic was "kstreamriper" if you are talking about a GUI.
"I see" said the blind man to the deaf man who stuck his wooden leg out the window to check the weather.

saltsprung
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 3
Joined: Thu May 27, 2010 8:45 pm

Re: How do I find Streamripper?

Post by saltsprung » Thu May 27, 2010 11:43 pm

thx1138 wrote:It's in /usr/bin.
Or you open a terminal and type streamripper.
Thank you. I found it in /usr/bin, but it won't open?

If I type streamripper in a terminal, I get this:

~ # streamripper
Usage: streamripper URL [OPTIONS]
Opts: -h - Print this listing
-v - Print version info and quit
-a [file] - Rip to single file, default name is timestamped
-A - Don't write individual tracks
-d dir - The destination directory
-D pattern - Write files using specified pattern
-s - Don't create a directory for each stream
-r [[ip:]port] - Create relay server on base ip:port, default port 8000
-R #connect - Max connections to relay, default 1, -R 0 is no limit
-L file - Create a relay playlist file
-z - Don't scan for free ports if base port is not avail
-p url - Use HTTP proxy server at <url>
-o (always|never|larger|version) - When to write tracks in complete
-t - Don't overwrite tracks in incomplete
-c - Don't auto-reconnect
-l seconds - Number of seconds to run, otherwise runs forever
-M megabytes - Stop ripping after this many megabytes
-q [start] - Add sequence number to output file
-u useragent - Use a different UserAgent than "Streamripper"
-w rulefile - Parse metadata using rules in file.
-m timeout - Number of seconds before force-closing stalled conn
-k count - Leave <count> tracks in incomplete
-I interface - Rip from specified interface (e.g. eth0)
-T - Truncate duplicated tracks in incomplete
-E command - Run external command to fetch metadata
--quiet - Don't print ripping status to console
--stderr - Print ripping status to stderr (old behavior)
--debug - Save debugging trace
ID3 opts (mp3/aac/nsv): [The default behavior is adding ID3V2.3 only]
-i - Don't add any ID3 tags to output file
--with-id3v1 - Add ID3V1 tags to output file
--without-id3v2 - Don't add ID3V2 tags to output file
Splitpoint opts (mp3 only):
--xs-none - Don't search for silence
--xs-offset=num - Shift relative to metadata (msec)
--xs-padding=num:num - Add extra to prev:next track (msec)
--xs-search-window=num:num - Search window relative to metadata (msec)
--xs-silence-length=num - Expected length of silence (msec)
--xs2 - Use new algorithm for silence detection
Codeset opts:
--codeset-filesys=codeset - Specify codeset for the file system
--codeset-id3=codeset - Specify codeset for id3 tags
--codeset-metadata=codeset - Specify codeset for metadata
--codeset-relay=codeset - Specify codeset for the relay stream

saltsprung
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 3
Joined: Thu May 27, 2010 8:45 pm

Re: How do I find Streamripper?

Post by saltsprung » Thu May 27, 2010 11:44 pm

JasonLG wrote:The lightest frontend I could find doing a quick search of Synaptic was "kstreamriper" if you are talking about a GUI.
Thank you, but I'm not sure what you mean by front end or GUI.

JasonLG
Level 7
Level 7
Posts: 1612
Joined: Thu May 20, 2010 9:15 pm
Location: Polk City, Iowa USA

Re: How do I find Streamripper?

Post by JasonLG » Fri May 28, 2010 12:04 am

GUI stands for Graphic User Interface. It's the part of a program that you see and interact with. Streamripper in a command line program, it does not have a GUI. To use it by it's self you would have to know the commands for it. Kstreamripper is a GUI for Streamripper it presents you with a Graphic User Interface with which to interact with Streamripper without having to know the commands.
"I see" said the blind man to the deaf man who stuck his wooden leg out the window to check the weather.

distoaddict
Level 4
Level 4
Posts: 211
Joined: Thu Dec 04, 2008 6:35 am
Location: Glasgow Scotland

Re: How do I find Streamripper?

Post by distoaddict » Fri May 28, 2010 12:20 pm

also works nicely with streamtuner & tunapie

Post Reply

Return to “Software & Applications”