Weird characters appearing on webpages (Firefox)

Questions about applications and software
Forum rules
Before you post please read how to get help
User avatar
Stretch
Level 2
Level 2
Posts: 76
Joined: Sun Sep 09, 2007 6:19 pm

Weird characters appearing on webpages (Firefox)

Postby Stretch » Tue Sep 18, 2007 11:15 am

I am seeing quite a lot of strange characters on my webpages. I think it is something to do with language settings? For example:

Sony Cmteh20Dab Dab/Fm Micro System.

Free �5 gift voucher with this purchase

54% off
was �129.79
now �59.89

(the weird symbol should be a £).

The strange thing is, other webpages will display the £ properly.

carlos
Level 5
Level 5
Posts: 525
Joined: Thu Dec 14, 2006 4:30 pm
Location: USA
Contact:

Postby carlos » Tue Sep 18, 2007 11:25 am

Do you have a link to the web page?

Chances are you have the wrong character encoding. You should try utf-8, you might have western iso-8859 set.

It will be under the view>character encoding menu of firefox.
____________ ________ ______ ____ ___ __ __ _
http://www.designdrifter.com
The Purpose of Life is for DNA to reproduce.

User avatar
Stretch
Level 2
Level 2
Posts: 76
Joined: Sun Sep 09, 2007 6:19 pm

Postby Stretch » Tue Sep 18, 2007 11:29 am

Thanks Carlos! I needed to chose ISO-8859-15

:wink:

EDIT: now how can I change these settings in Gnome, as I see some strange characters in some apps also?

carlos
Level 5
Level 5
Posts: 525
Joined: Thu Dec 14, 2006 4:30 pm
Location: USA
Contact:

Postby carlos » Tue Sep 18, 2007 11:53 am

Hmm that I'm not sure about, hopefully somebody can chime in for ya.
____________ ________ ______ ____ ___ __ __ _

http://www.designdrifter.com

The Purpose of Life is for DNA to reproduce.

Husse
Level 23
Level 23
Posts: 19593
Joined: Sun Feb 11, 2007 7:22 am
Location: Near Borås Sweden

Postby Husse » Sun Sep 23, 2007 12:31 pm

I answered this recently - well mid july - and had to search quite a bit for the answer
You set the locale without changing the language in a terminal with

Code: Select all

localedef

To find out how use the manual

Code: Select all

man localedef

You certainly have to be root for this (use sudo)
and it's always good to look at the manual - man whatever :)
Image
Don't fix it if it ain't broken, don't break it if you can't fix it


Return to “Software & Applications”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests