Clam AV Not updating

Questions about applications and software
Forum rules
Before you post please read how to get help
Post Reply
weaston
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 38
Joined: Wed Jul 21, 2010 6:07 am

Clam AV Not updating

Post by weaston »

Hi Guys,

I have installed clamav antivirus but can't get the virus database up to date or installed. I ran the update option from the GUI but it didn't work. Any pointers please.

Thanks
Attachments
Clam Tk Virus Scanner.png
Clam Tk Virus Scanner.png (136.13 KiB) Viewed 4220 times
dawgdoc
Level 9
Level 9
Posts: 2743
Joined: Mon Oct 05, 2009 12:53 am
Location: Formerly of Kentucky, the land of Mint Juleps

Re: Clam AV Not updating

Post by dawgdoc »

At the time that you installed clamtk for the GUI interface did you also install freshclam? I believe you need this package to get the updates.
SYSTEMS:
HP 15-bw0017cl -- Mint 19.3 Cinnamon
Compaq Presario CQ62 -- Mint 17 Cinnamon (support for 80 y/o family members 1st install)
READING:
The Secret of the Ninth Planet by Donald A. Wollheim
vincent
Level 8
Level 8
Posts: 2217
Joined: Tue Feb 09, 2010 4:10 am

Re: Clam AV Not updating

Post by vincent »

Once you've installed the "freshclam" package, you can then update your virus definitions by opening up a terminal and pasting the following in:

Code: Select all

sudo freshclam
Debian Testing x64/LM9 Main x64/Windows 7 x64 - LG R580 laptop w/ Intel Core 2 Duo T6500 2.1 GHz, 4 GB DDR2 RAM, Nvidia Geforce G 105M, Ralink rt2860 802.11n, 300 GB WD HD 5400 rpm
User avatar
NimaSepassi
Level 3
Level 3
Posts: 124
Joined: Mon Jan 04, 2010 10:56 am
Location: Los Angeles, California, USA

Re: Clam AV Not updating

Post by NimaSepassi »

Thanks, I just ran

Code: Select all

sudo freshclam

and it's updating as I type. The only thing is it seems strange that they wouldn't have the update function as part of the GUI. Go figure.
Numquam ponenda est pluralitas sine necessitate [Plurality must never be posited without necessity], aka Occam's Razor.
vincent
Level 8
Level 8
Posts: 2217
Joined: Tue Feb 09, 2010 4:10 am

Re: Clam AV Not updating

Post by vincent »

You need root privileges to update your virus definitions with ClamAV (it's why you need to run "freshclam" with sudo). If you want to update your virus definitions through the clamtk GUI, you'll need to run that with root privileges as well, e.g. "gksudo clamtk".
Debian Testing x64/LM9 Main x64/Windows 7 x64 - LG R580 laptop w/ Intel Core 2 Duo T6500 2.1 GHz, 4 GB DDR2 RAM, Nvidia Geforce G 105M, Ralink rt2860 802.11n, 300 GB WD HD 5400 rpm
User avatar
NimaSepassi
Level 3
Level 3
Posts: 124
Joined: Mon Jan 04, 2010 10:56 am
Location: Los Angeles, California, USA

Re: Clam AV Not updating

Post by NimaSepassi »

Still not updated. I ran

Code: Select all

sudo freshclam 
and then ran

Code: Select all

gksudo clamtk
It's not updated and there's not a single button or menu item that allows you to do an actual update. It only gives the option to check for updates.

Please advise.

Thanks,
-Nima (xy)
Attachments
ClamTk.png
ClamTk.png (212.03 KiB) Viewed 4131 times
Numquam ponenda est pluralitas sine necessitate [Plurality must never be posited without necessity], aka Occam's Razor.
User avatar
hemimaniac
Level 5
Level 5
Posts: 501
Joined: Thu Feb 04, 2010 1:26 pm
Location: London ON

Re: Clam AV Not updating

Post by hemimaniac »

first off for some reason, the regular buntu ppa is very slow getting updates for clam, i would suggest the following

sudo apt-add-repository ppa:ubuntu-clamav/ppa

sudo apt-get update && sudo apt-get upgrade

restart and clamtk should continue as normal
"Linux allows for one thing above all else - 'A user can truly be themselves!'"
Image
dawgdoc
Level 9
Level 9
Posts: 2743
Joined: Mon Oct 05, 2009 12:53 am
Location: Formerly of Kentucky, the land of Mint Juleps

Re: Clam AV Not updating

Post by dawgdoc »

Nima, I may be reading the screenshot you posted incorrectly, but it has today's date by the virus definitions line. My gui has the same date. To verify the last update of virus definitions I went to the clamav website and found the latest definitions to be
ClamAV Virus Databases:
main.cvd ver. 53 released on 14 Nov 2010 09:58 :0500 (sig count: 846214)
daily.cvd ver. 12315 released on 24 Nov 2010 03:06 :0500 (sig count: 6662)
I then checked my logfiles to see which version of the daily.cvd file I had. I did this by running in terminal

Code: Select all

sudo cat /var/log/clamav/freshclam* | grep 1231*
your path may differ because I am running LMDE, but I do not think it will be different.

Towards the end of the output was this:

Code: Select all

Wed Nov 24 15:32:27 2010 -> Downloading daily-12313.cdiff [100%]
Wed Nov 24 15:32:27 2010 -> Downloading daily-12314.cdiff [100%]
Wed Nov 24 15:32:28 2010 -> Downloading daily-12315.cdiff [100%]
Wed Nov 24 15:32:28 2010 -> Downloading daily-12316.cdiff [100%]
Wed Nov 24 15:32:28 2010 -> daily.cld updated (version: 12316, sigs: 6666, f-level: 54, builder: guitar)
I believe it is actually up to 12317 now.

You can set the clamtk gui to check for updates to the AV definitions and the GUI at startup, I believe that is system startup, not application start. Click the Advanced menu header, select Preferences, then go to the Startup Preferences tab and select the top two entries, if not all three.
SYSTEMS:
HP 15-bw0017cl -- Mint 19.3 Cinnamon
Compaq Presario CQ62 -- Mint 17 Cinnamon (support for 80 y/o family members 1st install)
READING:
The Secret of the Ninth Planet by Donald A. Wollheim
User avatar
NimaSepassi
Level 3
Level 3
Posts: 124
Joined: Mon Jan 04, 2010 10:56 am
Location: Los Angeles, California, USA

Re: Clam AV Not updating

Post by NimaSepassi »

dawgdoc: Thanks but that was already done.

hemimaniac: Thanks, my anti-virus engine is now up to date (along with a bunch of other stuff on my system).

How do I update the GUI?
Attachments
ClamTk-2.png
ClamTk-2.png (43.73 KiB) Viewed 4104 times
Numquam ponenda est pluralitas sine necessitate [Plurality must never be posited without necessity], aka Occam's Razor.
User avatar
hemimaniac
Level 5
Level 5
Posts: 501
Joined: Thu Feb 04, 2010 1:26 pm
Location: London ON

Re: Clam AV Not updating

Post by hemimaniac »

go here and grab the latest one
"Linux allows for one thing above all else - 'A user can truly be themselves!'"
Image
User avatar
NimaSepassi
Level 3
Level 3
Posts: 124
Joined: Mon Jan 04, 2010 10:56 am
Location: Los Angeles, California, USA

Re: Clam AV Not updating

Post by NimaSepassi »

Thanks again hemimaniac. That did it.

It's too bad there isn't a simpler way of doing all this. They could a function or functions on the app to update virus definitions, engine and GUI at the click of a mouse button. I think ClamAV would have a stronger following amongst Linuxiers.
Numquam ponenda est pluralitas sine necessitate [Plurality must never be posited without necessity], aka Occam's Razor.
User avatar
Miami592
Level 2
Level 2
Posts: 95
Joined: Mon Jul 11, 2011 4:38 pm

Re: Clam AV Not updating

Post by Miami592 »

hemimaniac wrote:first off for some reason, the regular buntu ppa is very slow getting updates for clam, i would suggest the following

sudo apt-add-repository ppa:ubuntu-clamav/ppa

sudo apt-get update && sudo apt-get upgrade

restart and clamtk should continue as normal
That did the trick for me!

Thanks Hemi!
HP a6619f, 4GB ram, 500 GB HDD, Nvidia GeForce 930 GS
Mint 13 Cinnamon 64
User avatar
Miami592
Level 2
Level 2
Posts: 95
Joined: Mon Jul 11, 2011 4:38 pm

Re: Clam AV Not updating

Post by Miami592 »

OK, now I'm having a bit of an issue.

My virus definitions will not seem to update.

Screenshot will not post but "Antivirus Definitions" says "Outdated".

Any advice is greatly appreciated.
HP a6619f, 4GB ram, 500 GB HDD, Nvidia GeForce 930 GS
Mint 13 Cinnamon 64
vincent
Level 8
Level 8
Posts: 2217
Joined: Tue Feb 09, 2010 4:10 am

Re: Clam AV Not updating

Post by vincent »

Miami592 wrote:My virus definitions will not seem to update.
In a terminal:

Code: Select all

sudo freshclam
Debian Testing x64/LM9 Main x64/Windows 7 x64 - LG R580 laptop w/ Intel Core 2 Duo T6500 2.1 GHz, 4 GB DDR2 RAM, Nvidia Geforce G 105M, Ralink rt2860 802.11n, 300 GB WD HD 5400 rpm
User avatar
Miami592
Level 2
Level 2
Posts: 95
Joined: Mon Jul 11, 2011 4:38 pm

Re: Clam AV Not updating

Post by Miami592 »

Thank you for the quick reply.

When I type "sudo freshclam" in terminal I get the following message:

"WARNING: You must specify at least one database mirror in /etc/clamav/freshclam.conf"

Thanks for being patient with a linux noob :?
HP a6619f, 4GB ram, 500 GB HDD, Nvidia GeForce 930 GS
Mint 13 Cinnamon 64
vincent
Level 8
Level 8
Posts: 2217
Joined: Tue Feb 09, 2010 4:10 am

Re: Clam AV Not updating

Post by vincent »

Code: Select all

sudo dpkg-reconfigure clamav-freshclam
(You could also just manually open up /etc/clamav/freshclam.conf with a text editor and append a mirror site, but using dpkg is easier.)
Debian Testing x64/LM9 Main x64/Windows 7 x64 - LG R580 laptop w/ Intel Core 2 Duo T6500 2.1 GHz, 4 GB DDR2 RAM, Nvidia Geforce G 105M, Ralink rt2860 802.11n, 300 GB WD HD 5400 rpm
User avatar
Miami592
Level 2
Level 2
Posts: 95
Joined: Mon Jul 11, 2011 4:38 pm

Re: Clam AV Not updating

Post by Miami592 »

Thank you Vincent you are very helpful. I appreciate it.

I was able to get that straightened out through a re-installation.

Now clamtk says my antivirus engine 0.97 is outdated.

Would you happen to know how I can upgrade to 0.97.2 using the command line in terminal?

Thanks again for all your help. I hope some day I can help a noob!
HP a6619f, 4GB ram, 500 GB HDD, Nvidia GeForce 930 GS
Mint 13 Cinnamon 64
vincent
Level 8
Level 8
Posts: 2217
Joined: Tue Feb 09, 2010 4:10 am

Re: Clam AV Not updating

Post by vincent »

Don't you already have the ClamAV PPA added to your system? Try again, I guess...

Code: Select all

sudo add-apt-repository ppa:ubuntu-clamav/ppa
sudo apt-get update
sudo apt-get upgrade
Debian Testing x64/LM9 Main x64/Windows 7 x64 - LG R580 laptop w/ Intel Core 2 Duo T6500 2.1 GHz, 4 GB DDR2 RAM, Nvidia Geforce G 105M, Ralink rt2860 802.11n, 300 GB WD HD 5400 rpm
User avatar
Miami592
Level 2
Level 2
Posts: 95
Joined: Mon Jul 11, 2011 4:38 pm

Re: Clam AV Not updating

Post by Miami592 »

That worked!

Thank you so much.

I've had several other technical issues while trying to figure out this OS.

Now that anti-virus is checked off the list, I can move on to the driver issues I'm having with my GeForce 6150SE nforce 430!

If I see "checking battery state" locked up one more time on startup I'm gonna go postal.

Thanks again for all your help.

M592
HP a6619f, 4GB ram, 500 GB HDD, Nvidia GeForce 930 GS
Mint 13 Cinnamon 64
User avatar
Miami592
Level 2
Level 2
Posts: 95
Joined: Mon Jul 11, 2011 4:38 pm

Re: Clam AV Not updating

Post by Miami592 »

I am now unable to upgrade engine to 0.97.4 in Mint 9, even when using the previously successful steps listed above.

Any thoughts or ideas?

M5
HP a6619f, 4GB ram, 500 GB HDD, Nvidia GeForce 930 GS
Mint 13 Cinnamon 64
Post Reply

Return to “Software & Applications”