Forum rules
Before you post please read how to get help
biggusdoggus
Level 1
Level 1

anyone had any joy with Eurosport Player - needs Silverlight

Post by biggusdoggus » Thu Nov 18, 2010 1:14 pm

Hi,

I'm fairly new to this Linux mallarky. I've just built myself a new machine following the death of my previous (windows running) hardware and I have decided I'd like to give Linux a proper go instead of going down the Winduz route. I've been using Mint 9 on my laptop with success (pretty much only browsing, so hardly pushing the boat out) and like the look/feel so I've gone and installed Julia on this new kit.

So far so good, works great straight out of the box, so I've started trying to configure it with everything I'd like it to run going forward. Most of what I need was in the distro, it's been that well thought through.

I seem to have hit a wall with the Eurosport live streaming site.

Eurosport used to use Flash, but have now switched to Silverlight as their weapon of choice. Of course SL doesn't have a Linux version and so when I hit the Eurosport site it pushes me to the Microsoft SL installation site which in turn sends me to Moonlight - the Novel version that claims to be fully compatible but is clearly still very much in the development stage.

Moonlight installs, and a trawl of silverlight sites that run games etc seems to prove that (in the main) it works pretty well. Sadly it just hangs when accessing Eurosport. I've tried the Moonlight 3.0 alpha install as well with similar results.

As I understand it, Eurosport are (probably) making use of the new DRM stuff that's in Silverlight, which hasn't been released to Novel for integration into Moonlight (and knowing Microsoft, never will). Thinking laterally, a friend suggested running Silverlight under Wine, but a google suggests that that is another head/wall/bang dead end.