UAE ??? - any guru's out there?

Questions about applications and software
Forum rules
Before you post please read how to get help
eriktheunready
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 3
Joined: Tue Oct 30, 2007 6:32 am

UAE ??? - any guru's out there?

Postby eriktheunready » Tue Oct 30, 2007 6:39 am

Has anyone gotten UAE to work on mint? It works just groovy on xandros and Suse, but not damn on Mint.
It seems to be an inherited fault from Ubuntu , as it wont run on feisty either.

Are there any guru's out there that have nay insight into this?
All I get is a core dump, regardless of any settings I change.

"Building CPU table for configuration: 68020
1866 CPU functions
Building CPU function table (2 0).
Using 24 bit visual, 32 bits per pixel
Using normal image buffer.
Segmentation fault (core dumped)"

User avatar
poision
Level 3
Level 3
Posts: 144
Joined: Mon Jun 18, 2007 10:59 am
Location: India

Re: UAE ??? - any guru's out there?

Postby poision » Thu Nov 01, 2007 10:35 pm

Well not getting what ya want actually here is one link hope this ll help you
http://ubuntuforums.org/archive/index.php/t-73405.html
regards
Last edited by poision on Fri Nov 02, 2007 7:55 am, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
merlwiz79
Level 10
Level 10
Posts: 3476
Joined: Wed Apr 04, 2007 1:50 pm
Location: Here again :)

Postby merlwiz79 » Fri Nov 02, 2007 3:26 am

Add this to your sources list and install e-uae

Celena:

Code: Select all

deb http://morgoth.free.fr/ubuntu  feisty-backports  main
Daryna:

Code: Select all

deb http://morgoth.free.fr/ubuntu gutsy-backports main

Add key:

Code: Select all

wget -O - http://morgoth.free.fr/files/morgoth-signkey.gpg.asc | sudo apt-key add -

Now you have the emulator installed, but still need the kickstart. This can only be downloaded legally for free if you own an old Amiga with the adequate (in this case version 1.3) Kickstart Rom.

Code: Select all

wget "http://www.theoldcomputer.com/Libarary's/Emulation/BIOS_Roms/Kickstart1.3.zip"

Alternatively you can buy the full range of Amiga Kickstart's here: http://www.amigaforever.com/ or roll one of your own using your old Amiga and Workbench Floppy (see http://ale.emuunlim.com/guides/get-kick-rom.shtml and http://www.pcguru.plus.com/linux_uae_faq.html ).

Unpack and copy the kickstart.roms into a folder in your home directory fx. to

Code: Select all

/home/USERNAME/amiga/roms

Open terminal, not as root(Not sudo), and run.

Code: Select all

uae

Settings:
1. click Memory/change Kickstart ROM file and set it to the Amiga rom you want to use. fx. /home/USERNAME/amiga/roms/KICK13.ROM, for standard Amiga 500 rom.
2. click Gameports and make sure the selection here is to your liking. And now finally.
Loading games:
1. Click Floppy Disk and insert the .adf you want into DF0:
2. If the game has more disks you can insert disk2 in DF1:
3. Click Start
Use F12+s to toggle fullscreen view.
Games: http://amiga.nvg.org/warlock/adf/search.phtml
Image

eriktheunready
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 3
Joined: Tue Oct 30, 2007 6:32 am

UAE ??? - any guru's out there?

Postby eriktheunready » Fri Nov 02, 2007 5:30 am

thank you, thank you, thank you.


what is the difference between uae & e-uae ??

Thanks, for the advice, but I have cloanto's amiga forever kickrom's, plus I have some old stiffy's lying about. ever since my amiga500 died when I was a kid, I have been burning to take those assembly scene demo's apart... :o)

User avatar
merlwiz79
Level 10
Level 10
Posts: 3476
Joined: Wed Apr 04, 2007 1:50 pm
Location: Here again :)

Postby merlwiz79 » Fri Nov 02, 2007 3:17 pm

E-UAE is suppose to be more stable and has fullscreen support.
For more info about the project look here.
http://sourceforge.net/projects/uaedev/
http://www.rcdrummond.net/uae/
Image


Return to “Software & Applications”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 5 guests