wine doesnt work with LMDE

Questions about applications and software
Forum rules
Before you post please read how to get help
Post Reply
User avatar
dante19992
Level 5
Level 5
Posts: 661
Joined: Wed Nov 17, 2010 3:30 pm

wine doesnt work with LMDE

Post by dante19992 »

IM USING lmde and no mattter what i do it will not work. i have tried using the old debian version the frickelplatz repo version and the ubuntu version. none o them work. now i kno its LMDE cuz i have no porblem with this program in the main edition of mint. any help here? the program in question is Jade Dynasty. just like every other mmo when i try to launch it i get a dialog box full or strange characters. any help here guyz?
AlbertP
Level 16
Level 16
Posts: 6712
Joined: Sun Jan 30, 2011 12:38 pm
Location: Utrecht, The Netherlands

Re: wine doesnt work with LMDE

Post by AlbertP »

Wine is still in development, not all programs will work with it. You can better ask this on Wine forum (http://forum.winehq.org) or bugzilla I think.
Registered Linux User #528502
Image
Feel free to correct me if I'm trying to write in Spanish, French or German.
User avatar
dante19992
Level 5
Level 5
Posts: 661
Joined: Wed Nov 17, 2010 3:30 pm

Re: wine doesnt work with LMDE

Post by dante19992 »

like i said tho i only have this issue with LMDE. the app works on the main edition and just about every other distro with wine support
User avatar
Pranaone
Level 3
Level 3
Posts: 148
Joined: Fri May 14, 2010 12:50 am
Location: Sri Lanka

Re: wine doesnt work with LMDE

Post by Pranaone »

wine has been a bit flaky for me recently,most of the games that i used to run don't work any more. These days I've stopped using it, since gaming was the main reason i installed wine in the first place.
AlbertP
Level 16
Level 16
Posts: 6712
Joined: Sun Jan 30, 2011 12:38 pm
Location: Utrecht, The Netherlands

Re: wine doesnt work with LMDE

Post by AlbertP »

This is because Wine is updated. You can get the old version back by downloading the source and compiling it.
Registered Linux User #528502
Image
Feel free to correct me if I'm trying to write in Spanish, French or German.
User avatar
KenWeiLL
Level 2
Level 2
Posts: 60
Joined: Sun May 11, 2008 8:25 am
Contact:

Re: wine doesnt work with LMDE

Post by KenWeiLL »

WINE in LMDE repo is outdated. Version 1.0.1.
I was also wondering why this has been the case. :(
KLM Merchant Hubs - A Coupon & Voucher Website
User avatar
Pranaone
Level 3
Level 3
Posts: 148
Joined: Fri May 14, 2010 12:50 am
Location: Sri Lanka

Re: wine doesnt work with LMDE

Post by Pranaone »

AlbertP wrote:This is because Wine is updated. You can get the old version back by downloading the source and compiling it.
actually i've tried both the older and the latest versions, but no luck, apps work fine. The trouble arises when directx 3d games are involved. Anyway i've gotten over it. Beside i've got lots to learn in linux itself, its way better than any game i played so far.
:D
User avatar
dante19992
Level 5
Level 5
Posts: 661
Joined: Wed Nov 17, 2010 3:30 pm

Re: wine doesnt work with LMDE

Post by dante19992 »

my proble m is just my two online games. i just wanna run my jade dynasty and perfect world. until LMDE with wine is capable of that im sticking with main
User avatar
willie42
Level 7
Level 7
Posts: 1971
Joined: Tue Jun 22, 2010 7:52 pm
Location: Oak Ridge, TN USA

Re: wine doesnt work with LMDE

Post by willie42 »

Try play on Linux.

http://www.playonlinux.com/en/

hope this helps
Comptia A+ Certified Technician
Comptia Network + Certified Technician
You can not have Success without Failures.
sam500
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 29
Joined: Wed Feb 03, 2010 9:19 am
Location: Tokyo, Japan

Re: wine doesnt work with LMDE

Post by sam500 »

I've been trying to run Exact Audio Copy (EAC) on LMDE (via Wine) with absolutely no success. Managed to get it installed but the program hangs / crashes whenever I open it. Rubyripper it will have to be.
LMDE
User avatar
dante19992
Level 5
Level 5
Posts: 661
Joined: Wed Nov 17, 2010 3:30 pm

Re: wine doesnt work with LMDE

Post by dante19992 »

willie42 wrote:Try play on Linux.

http://www.playonlinux.com/en/

hope this helps
i tried it on main edition just to make sure it would work at all and it did. i had heard of play on linux and even used it before but it never occured to me to try it. hopefully this will work thank u willie
User avatar
dante19992
Level 5
Level 5
Posts: 661
Joined: Wed Nov 17, 2010 3:30 pm

Re: wine doesnt work with LMDE

Post by dante19992 »

didnt work. as such i will be migrating back to the main edition and not using LMDE ever again D: or potentially switching to a different distro all together
User avatar
vrkalak
Level 12
Level 12
Posts: 4406
Joined: Mon Jul 20, 2009 5:53 pm
Location: Santa Fe, NM, USA

Re: wine doesnt work with LMDE

Post by vrkalak »

Have you checkout the main Wine website? The Wine Forums? Wiki pages?

Main Wine site > http://www.winehq.org/
Wine Forum > http://forum.winehq.org/
Wine Wiki pages > http://wiki.winehq.org/

Ask your questions there, about working with Wine ... and getting your particular Windows program up and running.

In this regard, I have always found the "Wiki pages" to be extremely helpful, as well as, the Help Forum.
Image
:: Debian-Sid (Xfce/Fluxbox) :: LinuxMint-18 (LTS) LXDE w/Openbox ::
Registered Linux User: #497031 :: My DeviantART Page
User avatar
dante19992
Level 5
Level 5
Posts: 661
Joined: Wed Nov 17, 2010 3:30 pm

Re: wine doesnt work with LMDE

Post by dante19992 »

yes i have. i ended up just giving up on LMDE until lamaresh is updated once more
Post Reply

Return to “Software & Applications”