Mintmenu in XFCE

Questions about applications and software
Forum rules
Before you post please read how to get help
User avatar
wubuntu
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 28
Joined: Fri Oct 19, 2007 2:27 pm
Contact:

Mintmenu in XFCE

Postby wubuntu » Wed Nov 14, 2007 11:16 am

Hi,

is it possible to use the mintmenu in XFCE?

I just added the Xfapplet to the panel and selcted the MintMenu,

atfer that a system-message appears:

Code: Select all

'LinuxMint Menu could not be loaded'
An internal error occured and the applet could not be loaded


Can anybody eplain me that problem and/or could help to solve?


Thanx in advance


wubuntu

Husse
Level 23
Level 23
Posts: 19595
Joined: Sun Feb 11, 2007 7:22 am
Location: Near Borås Sweden

Postby Husse » Wed Nov 14, 2007 11:38 am

No you can't load mintMenu in xfce especially if you mean the xfce edition. It depends on Python and something more I don't remember right now
It's also a bit hungry for memory
Image
Don't fix it if it ain't broken, don't break it if you can't fix it

User avatar
wubuntu
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 28
Joined: Fri Oct 19, 2007 2:27 pm
Contact:

Postby wubuntu » Wed Nov 14, 2007 12:11 pm

yep, i mean the daryna beta xfce ce.

i think i've read a post about that topic (possibly not in this forum) that i it would work but i cannot find it anymore...

hmm...
Thinkpad R31
Ubuntu "Gutsy" Gnome
LinuxMint "Daryna" XFCE
Debian "Etch" Gnome
WinXP

Husse
Level 23
Level 23
Posts: 19595
Joined: Sun Feb 11, 2007 7:22 am
Location: Near Borås Sweden

Postby Husse » Wed Nov 14, 2007 3:36 pm

i think i've read a post about that topic

Now that you mention it - so have I and the basic content was - well sort of
http://www.linuxmint.com/forum/viewtopi ... 3217#23217
I try to remember everything and here I remembered wrong - the problem is that it gets really slow...
Image
Don't fix it if it ain't broken, don't break it if you can't fix it

User avatar
merlwiz79
Level 10
Level 10
Posts: 3476
Joined: Wed Apr 04, 2007 1:50 pm
Location: Here again :)

Postby merlwiz79 » Wed Nov 14, 2007 9:21 pm

Husse wrote:
i think i've read a post about that topic

Now that you mention it - so have I and the basic content was - well sort of
http://www.linuxmint.com/forum/viewtopi ... 3217#23217
I try to remember everything and here I remembered wrong - the problem is that it gets really slow...
The new one loads faster.
Here is a way to try and fix it.
Run this in terminal.

Code: Select all

sudo apt purge mintmenu xfce4-xfapplet-plugin

Now install this version of mintmenu that I changed to use XFCE CE settings instead.
http://www.4shared.com/file/29325612/be ... _i386.html
I have yet to find a way to stop it from filtering out Xfce only apps.
Image

User avatar
wubuntu
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 28
Joined: Fri Oct 19, 2007 2:27 pm
Contact:

Postby wubuntu » Thu Nov 15, 2007 12:55 am

Thanx to u Husse and merlwiz79,


I' gonna try this.

User avatar
wubuntu
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 28
Joined: Fri Oct 19, 2007 2:27 pm
Contact:

Postby wubuntu » Thu Nov 15, 2007 1:04 am

hmm, I've got te same error message :?

Code: Select all

'LinuxMint Menu could not be loaded'
An internal error occured and the applet could not be loaded

User avatar
merlwiz79
Level 10
Level 10
Posts: 3476
Joined: Wed Apr 04, 2007 1:50 pm
Location: Here again :)

Postby merlwiz79 » Thu Nov 15, 2007 5:21 am

wubuntu wrote:hmm, I've got te same error message :?

Code: Select all

'LinuxMint Menu could not be loaded'
An internal error occured and the applet could not be loaded
Did you purge xfapplet?
Go to Configuration editor.
/apps/xfapplet and unset key for all the things listed in applet_x that have linux mint in it.
Purge xfapplet then install the .deb you downloaded it will reinstall xfapplet for you.

I had the same problem, but that's what I did and its been running for 8hrs with no problems.
I don't save my sessions, but did test this and it worked after a reboot of a saved session.

Image
Image

User avatar
wubuntu
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 28
Joined: Fri Oct 19, 2007 2:27 pm
Contact:

Postby wubuntu » Thu Nov 15, 2007 6:27 am

yep, I did purge the xfapplet.

but nothing has changed after installing your package.

It's not very important for me - I just wanted to test how this menu
works in xfce.
I#M using the mintmenu in ubuntu 7.10 with Gnome - therefore...

Thank u very much merlwiz79 - maybe I'm gonna try it again.

And if you find another solution - perhaps U can post it.


greez wubuntu


Return to “Software & Applications”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 11 guests