Language display problems, Korean and Japanese

Questions about applications and software
Forum rules
Before you post read how to get help. Topics in this forum are automatically closed 6 months after creation.
hochleistungschiller

Language display problems, Korean and Japanese

Post by hochleistungschiller »

Hi, I'm not sure if this is the appropriate board for it, but since my problem does not concern the languages themselves, I think the problem I am experiencing should be of interest to some.
I should mention that I am new to Linux, and on my other PCs I run Windows 7; I've been using the default language support to display Japanese and Korean characters and have input support for them as well.
Naturally I thought this function would be present in Linux Mint 10 as well, and I installed the input functions as well as language support themselves and now have a fairly good idea how to use it. The only problem is, for those of you who are familiar with Japanese and Korean languages, whenever the browser displays Japanese webpages, it shows the Kanji portion of the Japanese text as Korean Hangul -- it makes the language undecipherable, and I removed Korean language support in an attempt to deal with the problem. The problem however still persists, and I'm lost as to what I could do to remedy this problem.
Last edited by LockBot on Wed Dec 28, 2022 7:16 am, edited 1 time in total.
Reason: Topic automatically closed 6 months after creation. New replies are no longer allowed.
wayne128

Re: Language display problems, Korean and Japanese

Post by wayne128 »

I think you have missing True Type Font for proper display of sites that are in Japanese.

one possible thing you could try is to install ttf-wqy-zenhei, it display Chinese, Japanese and Korea fonts.

There are many type of fonts available in the repository, you could use package manager (Synaptic), open it, Reload it, then search for [ttf-japanese],