Please Help, mintMenu stopped working

Questions about applications and software
Forum rules
Before you post please read how to get help
CDavisUnlimited
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 18
Joined: Mon Dec 17, 2007 9:07 pm
Contact:

Please Help, mintMenu stopped working

Postby CDavisUnlimited » Mon Dec 31, 2007 12:44 am

All of a sudden, mintMenu stopped working and won't show up. I try to add it to my panel and I get this error message:

The panel encountered a problem while loading "OAFIID:GNOME_mintMenu".

I uninstalled it from synaptic and reinstalled it but I get the same error. Anybody know how to fix it?

-C

Russell

Re: Please Help, mintMenu stopped working

Postby Russell » Mon Dec 31, 2007 6:05 am

I have been having this problem as well.

User avatar
merlwiz79
Level 10
Level 10
Posts: 3475
Joined: Wed Apr 04, 2007 1:50 pm
Location: Here again :)

Re: Please Help, mintMenu stopped working

Postby merlwiz79 » Mon Dec 31, 2007 7:06 am

Have you tried deleting everything in ~/.gconf/apps/mintMenu?
Image

CDavisUnlimited
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 18
Joined: Mon Dec 17, 2007 9:07 pm
Contact:

Re: Please Help, mintMenu stopped working

Postby CDavisUnlimited » Mon Dec 31, 2007 9:16 pm

Well I turned my laptop off for overnight, and then back on in the morning, and the menu is back. I don't really get it, but I hope it doesn't happen again.

-C

FoolOnTheHill
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 6
Joined: Sun Feb 03, 2008 2:44 pm

Re: Please Help, mintMenu stopped working

Postby FoolOnTheHill » Sun Feb 10, 2008 9:51 pm

Well.. i'm having this problem... but mine wont go away...

FoolOnTheHill
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 6
Joined: Sun Feb 03, 2008 2:44 pm

Re: Please Help, mintMenu stopped working

Postby FoolOnTheHill » Sun Feb 17, 2008 9:33 pm

anyone?

Also tryed to install the new mintmenu release form romeo.. same error everytime..

Nakkero

Re: Please Help, mintMenu stopped working

Postby Nakkero » Sat Feb 23, 2008 11:38 am

Have you tried starting mintMenu in a separate window from a console?

Code: Select all

python /usr/lib/linuxmint/mintMenu/mintMenu_frontend.py run-in-window

FoolOnTheHill
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 6
Joined: Sun Feb 03, 2008 2:44 pm

Re: Please Help, mintMenu stopped working

Postby FoolOnTheHill » Sat Mar 08, 2008 6:23 pm

well since nothing worked.. reeinstalling mint did the trick... not a very good solution though...


Return to “Software & Applications”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot] and 19 guests