Questions about applications and software
Forum rules
Before you post please read how to get help
Fred
Level 10
Level 10

Virtual Box Questions

Post by Fred »

I am considering setting up a box running Mint 4 with xp running in Virtual Box. I need to do some testing on a program that only runs in xp. Ahhh... the things we do to earn a few bucks. :-)

I have never used Virtual Box before and had a couple questions.

1. Where does Mint store the virtual disk? /user, /opt, or somewhere else?

2. I assume the Windows code itself is on the virtual disk, if not please correct me.

3. Where is the Virtual Box code stored? /user? And how big is it?

Any other tips/tricks you can give me about installation and use.

Thanks for the help,

Fred

stafio
Level 2
Level 2

Re: Virtual Box Questions

Post by stafio »

I'll do my best to answer your questions.
1. Where does Mint store the virtual disk? /user, /opt, or somewhere else?
Wherever you want. I have my virtual disk stored on a separate partition. It's not so much where Mint stores the virtual disk. You can have it wherever you want and tell VirtualBox where it is.
2. I assume the Windows code itself is on the virtual disk, if not please correct me.
Yes, VirtualBox creates a .vdi (Virtual Disk Image, I believe) that contains the operating system code, settings, etc.
3. Where is the Virtual Box code stored? /user? And how big is it?
I'm not sure exactly where everything is stored, but I can give you a rough size. I did an apt-get remove virtualbox on my machine and got "After unpacking, 36.9MB disk space will be freed."
Any other tips/tricks you can give me about installation and use.
- Add the VirtualBox repositories to your apt sources. See "Debian-based Linux distributions: Add one of the following lines according to your distribution to your /etc/apt/sources.list:" on http://virtualbox.org/wiki/Downloads