SCIM works in Firefox and Thunderbird only

Questions about applications and software
Forum rules
Before you post please read how to get help
lotech
Level 2
Level 2
Posts: 74
Joined: Thu Jan 24, 2008 10:19 pm

SCIM works in Firefox and Thunderbird only

Postby lotech » Fri Feb 22, 2008 2:52 am

I installed SCIM for Chinese input, but it only works on FF and TB, I can't bring up the input toolbar in any other apps I don't know why.
Do you Yahoo ? No I hiccup only ;p

Husse
Level 23
Level 23
Posts: 19590
Joined: Sun Feb 11, 2007 7:22 am
Location: Near Borås Sweden

Re: SCIM works in Firefox and Thunderbird only

Postby Husse » Sat Feb 23, 2008 3:52 pm

There are lots of posts about the opposite of your experience....
Have you installed chinese locales

Code: Select all

sudo apt-get install locales

or in case it's installed but not in use

Code: Select all

sudo dpkg-reconfigure locales
Image
Don't fix it if it ain't broken, don't break it if you can't fix it

lotech
Level 2
Level 2
Posts: 74
Joined: Thu Jan 24, 2008 10:19 pm

Re: SCIM works in Firefox and Thunderbird only

Postby lotech » Sat Feb 23, 2008 5:34 pm

Thanks, I done that already but only works in FF and TB also Kompozer but no others, ctrl-sp does not trigger the language change on them I forgot to mention.
Do you Yahoo ? No I hiccup only ;p

Michal77

Re: SCIM works in Firefox and Thunderbird only

Postby Michal77 » Sat Jun 14, 2008 1:09 pm

Hi,
You need install all packages with scim-bradge and all with language-selector (in Synaptic).
Them change entry in scim setup:
sudo gedit /etc/X11/xinit/xinput.d/scim

and change:
GTK_IM_MODULE=xim

for
GTK_IM_MODULE="scim-bridge"

for more details or KDE users check:
https://help.ubuntu.com/community/SCIM
if scim will not show-up start it manually in terminal:
scim-bridge

I've tested it in Ubuntu 7.04 7.10 and in Mint 5.0.
Good luck!


Return to “Software & Applications”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: zromeo30 and 4 guests