Recent updates klled my Gnome 3 shell

Questions about applications and software
Forum rules
Before you post please read how to get help
Post Reply
Crashed
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 10
Joined: Mon Mar 12, 2012 6:28 pm

Recent updates klled my Gnome 3 shell

Post by Crashed » Mon Apr 16, 2012 3:40 pm

Hi everyone,

I just did some updates with Mint 12, using Gnome 3 shell, and it seems they killed by Gnome 3 shell menu bar. I cannot open applications, see the time, or anything at top. Anyone having this issue?


These are the updates I ran:

libglapi-mesa
libglu1-mesa
libgl1-mesa-dri
libgl1-mesa-glx
libomesa6
smbclient
libsmbclient
samba
samba-common
sambsa-common-bin
libwbclient0


Gnome Classic seems to work fine, its just the new Gnome 3 shell does not. Really bothering me. Any suggestions?

mank_in
Level 6
Level 6
Posts: 1390
Joined: Wed Nov 16, 2011 2:29 pm
Location: Bali

Re: Recent updates klled my Gnome 3 shell

Post by mank_in » Tue Apr 17, 2012 1:26 am

It look like the video driver switch to software razterizer or update may broken VGA driver , check with :

Code: Select all

inxi -Gx

Crashed
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 10
Joined: Mon Mar 12, 2012 6:28 pm

Re: Recent updates klled my Gnome 3 shell

Post by Crashed » Tue Apr 17, 2012 9:58 am

Graphics: Card-1: Intel 2nd Generation Core Processor Family Integrated Graphics Controller bus-ID: 00:02.0
Card-2: ATI NI Seymour [AMD Radeon HD 6470M] bus-ID: 01:00.0
X.Org 1.10.4 drivers fglrx unloaded: intel Resolution 1366x768@60.1hz
GLX Renderer AMD Radeon HD 6400M Series GLX Version 1.4 (2.1 (4.2.11554 - CPC)) Direct Rendering No


Here are my results, I'm guessing I need to somehow turn on Direct Rendering?

mank_in
Level 6
Level 6
Posts: 1390
Joined: Wed Nov 16, 2011 2:29 pm
Location: Bali

Re: Recent updates klled my Gnome 3 shell

Post by mank_in » Tue Apr 17, 2012 12:00 pm

Your system is notebook with hybrid graphic :?:
Try disable one card in BIOS (if option are available )
I don't know to using hybrid graphic in linux , but you can read : https://help.ubuntu.com/community/HybridGraphics
and search the web about how to using your hardware in linux.
I read somewhere to apply vga switcheroo you need use open source driver, check this one :
http://ubuntuforums.org/showthread.php?t=1744188&page=8
Last edited by mank_in on Tue Apr 17, 2012 12:06 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Crashed
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 10
Joined: Mon Mar 12, 2012 6:28 pm

Re: Recent updates klled my Gnome 3 shell

Post by Crashed » Tue Apr 17, 2012 12:05 pm

Yes, its a notebook with a Core i5 CPU, so it has the Intel HD graphics on the CPU, and the ATI discrete gpu.


I cannot change the option in the BIOS unfortunately. I do also have the ATI Catalyst drivers currently installed.


I'll look at the post you linked me, hopefully that can help.


thank you

Crashed
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 10
Joined: Mon Mar 12, 2012 6:28 pm

Re: Recent updates klled my Gnome 3 shell

Post by Crashed » Wed Apr 18, 2012 10:00 am

Seems like I figured out how to resolve my issue. I had to do a forced ATI driver removal, then forced the latest ATI driver install. For some reason I could not do anything cleanly.

After installing the latest AMD provided drivers, I was able to get everything working.

Thanks for the help and the links Mank_in!

Post Reply

Return to “Software & Applications”