Low/poor audio quality

Forum rules
Before you post please read how to get help
Post Reply
emanditarun88
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 5
Joined: Thu Mar 25, 2021 3:59 am

Low/poor audio quality

Post by emanditarun88 »

I was a windows user, recently installed Linux mint 20.1 and I'm a beginner. My linux experience till now is so good than the windows. The only problem i have now is the audio quality. The audio on my laptop is too low and the audio is too bad when i increased the max volume to 150%.
Please suggest me ways to fix or improve the audio quality.

please let me know if i need to post any other details.
User avatar
MrEen
Level 23
Level 23
Posts: 18140
Joined: Mon Jun 12, 2017 8:39 pm

Re: Low/poor audio quality

Post by MrEen »

Hi emanditarun88,

Let's get a look at your sound setup with this command:

Code: Select all

curl https://gitlab.freedesktop.org/pulseaudio/pulseaudio/raw/master/src/utils/pa-info?inline=false | bash | nc termbin.com 9999
The last line of output will have a URL pointing to the info. Pasting that URL is all I need.
emanditarun88
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 5
Joined: Thu Mar 25, 2021 3:59 am

Re: Low/poor audio quality

Post by emanditarun88 »

User avatar
MrEen
Level 23
Level 23
Posts: 18140
Joined: Mon Jun 12, 2017 8:39 pm

Re: Low/poor audio quality

Post by MrEen »

There very end of the output got chopped off. Please run this so I can see the rest of it:

Code: Select all

dmesg | grep -C1 -E 'ALSA|HDA|sof|HDMI|snd[_-]|sound|hda.codec|hda.intel'
So far I don't see anything obvious as to why the sound isn't decent. Is Windows still on this machine?
emanditarun88
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 5
Joined: Thu Mar 25, 2021 3:59 am

Re: Low/poor audio quality

Post by emanditarun88 »

Hi MrEen,
yes i have the Windows 10 also installed on my laptop. initially it was only windows 10 later i installed the linux mint on dual boot.

i ran the command you gave and below is the result.

[ 0.216499] ACPI: Added _OSI(Linux-Dell-Video)
[ 0.216500] ACPI: Added _OSI(Linux-Lenovo-NV-HDMI-Audio)
[ 0.216503] ACPI: Added _OSI(Linux-HPI-Hybrid-Graphics)
--
[ 0.861234] Freeing initrd memory: 86036K
[ 0.884429] PCI-DMA: Using software bounce buffering for IO (SWIOTLB)
[ 0.884432] software IO TLB: mapped [mem 0x6f17b000-0x7317b000] (64MB)
[ 0.884847] check: Scanning for low memory corruption every 60 seconds
--
[ 19.123201] Bluetooth: hci0: RTL: loading rtl_bt/rtl8723d_fw.bin
[ 19.165951] snd_hda_intel 0000:00:1f.3: bound 0000:00:02.0 (ops i915_audio_component_bind_ops [i915])
[ 20.031523] Bluetooth: hci0: RTL: loading rtl_bt/rtl8723d_config.bin
--
[ 20.379707] Bluetooth: hci0: RTL: fw version 0x828a96f1
[ 20.566008] snd_hda_codec_realtek hdaudioC0D0: autoconfig for ALC3227: line_outs=1 (0x14/0x0/0x0/0x0/0x0) type:speaker
[ 20.566009] snd_hda_codec_realtek hdaudioC0D0: speaker_outs=0 (0x0/0x0/0x0/0x0/0x0)
[ 20.566010] snd_hda_codec_realtek hdaudioC0D0: hp_outs=1 (0x21/0x0/0x0/0x0/0x0)
[ 20.566011] snd_hda_codec_realtek hdaudioC0D0: mono: mono_out=0x0
[ 20.566011] snd_hda_codec_realtek hdaudioC0D0: inputs:
[ 20.566012] snd_hda_codec_realtek hdaudioC0D0: Mic=0x19
[ 20.566013] snd_hda_codec_realtek hdaudioC0D0: Internal Mic=0x12
[ 20.720731] input: HDA Intel PCH Mic as /devices/pci0000:00/0000:00:1f.3/sound/card0/input9
[ 20.720816] input: HDA Intel PCH Headphone as /devices/pci0000:00/0000:00:1f.3/sound/card0/input10
[ 20.720890] input: HDA Intel PCH HDMI/DP,pcm=3 as /devices/pci0000:00/0000:00:1f.3/sound/card0/input11
[ 20.720966] input: HDA Intel PCH HDMI/DP,pcm=7 as /devices/pci0000:00/0000:00:1f.3/sound/card0/input12
[ 20.721021] input: HDA Intel PCH HDMI/DP,pcm=8 as /devices/pci0000:00/0000:00:1f.3/sound/card0/input13
[ 20.721076] input: HDA Intel PCH HDMI/DP,pcm=9 as /devices/pci0000:00/0000:00:1f.3/sound/card0/input14
[ 20.721135] input: HDA Intel PCH HDMI/DP,pcm=10 as /devices/pci0000:00/0000:00:1f.3/sound/card0/input15
[ 27.405823] audit: type=1400 audit(1620365402.878:2): apparmor="STATUS" operation="profile_load" profile="unconfined" name="nvidia_modprobe" pid=873 comm="apparmor_parser"
Post Reply