Kino captures only in root

Questions about codecs, DVD playback, web plugins...
Forum rules
Before you post please read how to get help
n_gate

Kino captures only in root

Postby n_gate » Fri Jun 20, 2008 7:10 am

I'm fairly new so pardon my ignorance; I can only get Kino to capture using dv1394 interface in root mode only. I tried changing read/write permissions to my own user account with no luck. There must be an easier way to use Kino capture under my own account. I'm sure running it in root is dangerous. :cry: I am using Elyssa...

Thanks!

User avatar
67GTA
Level 6
Level 6
Posts: 1303
Joined: Wed Jun 06, 2007 9:49 pm
Location: Kentucky, USA

Re: Kino captures only in root

Postby 67GTA » Fri Jun 20, 2008 8:25 am

Check out the bottom of the page here under "Other Methods": https://help.ubuntu.com/community/Firewire
"The only thing necessary for the triumph of evil is for good men to do nothing." Edmund Burke

n_gate

Re: Kino captures only in root

Postby n_gate » Sun Jun 22, 2008 2:01 pm

67GTA wrote:Check out the bottom of the page here under "Other Methods": https://help.ubuntu.com/community/Firewire


:D Thanks 67GTA; I'm sure I can make one of these work for me! ...If I recall, the '67 GTA came with either a hi po 390 or a 427 sohc option. Sweeeet....

User avatar
67GTA
Level 6
Level 6
Posts: 1303
Joined: Wed Jun 06, 2007 9:49 pm
Location: Kentucky, USA

Re: Kino captures only in root

Postby 67GTA » Sun Jun 22, 2008 3:32 pm

There was a third engine option. Mine has a 289 Hipo :D
"The only thing necessary for the triumph of evil is for good men to do nothing." Edmund Burke


Return to “Sound, Multimedia, & Codecs”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Yahoo [Bot] and 1 guest