Page 1 of 1

Sound did work fine, but stopped working now.

Posted: Tue Jul 09, 2013 9:44 am
by _HG_
I use Linux Mint 13 64-bit.

I have used Mint 8 32-bit for years, until about a month ago, when I switched to Mint 13 64-bit.
It has worked perfectly, until now, when the sound stopped working.
When I log onto the system I get the start-up sound, but then it is silent.

[url=http://img585.imageshack.us/img585/5532/xz59.png][img]http://img827.imageshack.us/img827/6379/jomt.png[/img][/url]
Swedish UI

[url=http://img534.imageshack.us/img534/2064/9jup.png][img]http://img94.imageshack.us/img94/9066/lkit.png[/img][/url]
Control Panel -> Sound -> Harware: is empty.

[url=http://img836.imageshack.us/img836/3708/m9vd.png][img]http://img801.imageshack.us/img801/100/j52.png[/img][/url]
Control Panel -> Sound -> Input: is empty.

[url=http://img203.imageshack.us/img203/9176/66x3.png][img]http://img22.imageshack.us/img22/3021/3riq.png[/img][/url]
Control Panel -> Sound -> Output: dummy.

How do I get the sound back ?

Re: Sound did work fine, but stopped working now.

Posted: Sat Jul 20, 2013 3:27 pm
by _HG_
Problem solved.

Command "sudo alsa force-reload" solved the problem.

/ Hans Gatu

Re: Sound did work fine, but stopped working now.

Posted: Sun Jul 21, 2013 6:20 am
by daNullSet
this was the problem with me as well, I am new to linux, can you explain please what does the command do you applied?
Thank you

Re: Sound did work fine, but stopped working now.

Posted: Sun Jul 21, 2013 6:24 am
by _HG_
Well, it is only a temporary work-around, since I have to type sudo alsa force-reload after every startup.
I hope to find a permanent solution, though.

/ Hans Gatu

Re: Sound did work fine, but stopped working now.

Posted: Sun Jul 21, 2013 6:59 am
by daNullSet
_HG_ wrote:Well, it is only a temporary work-around, since I have to type sudo alsa force-reload after every startup.
I hope to find a permanent solution, though.

/ Hans Gatu
Sorry, I assume that you didn't understand my question, I was asking what does the command below do actually?

Code: Select all

sudo alsa force-reload
and why did the sound stopped working according to your assessment?
Thank you

Re: Sound did work fine, but stopped working now.

Posted: Sun Jul 21, 2013 7:17 am
by _HG_
Well, I posted this from the beginning, because I would like to know why the sound stopped working.
I.e. I don't know that either.
The command reloads ALSA.